Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Feint + Copycat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jacek Wieszaczewski
Poland
Wrocław
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The ruling on "Make a run on server X, if successful, do something." cards says, that if the run is successful but not on server X (most examples using Bullfrog redirect), the effects don't trigger. Am I correct thinking that because of this, if ice layout allows, I can play Feint, bypass two pieces of ice, use Copycat to jump somewhere else and access cards there?
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ooh interesting! I agree, the previous rulings seem to apply to negate the "cannot access any cards".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian H
United States
Anacortes
Washington
flag msg tools
Mess with the best, die like the rest.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is "pass" the same as "bypass"? I guess in the context of Copycat it is...hmm.

However, "cannot access any cards" seems to imply that it doesn't matter what server you are running on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FAQ says

Quote:
“If successful...”
Whenever there is an “If successful...” effect tied to the outcome
of a run, the run itself must have been successful against the
specified server(s), if applicable. If the Runner initiates a run
against the specified server but ends the run on a different
server, the “If successful...” effect does not resolve when the run
is successful.

Example
: The Runner plays
Demolition Run
on HQ. During the
run, a
Bullfrog
moves the Runner to a remote server. Even though
the run is successful, the Runner cannot use the “If successful...”
effect on Demolition Run because the run was not successful
against R&D or HQ.
If the Bullfrog moved the Runner to R&D,
the ability would trigger when the run was successful.
If the “If successful...” effect does not specify a server, then it
does not matter if the attacked server is changed during the run
,and the ability resolves as normal.


Feint says

Quote:
Make a run on HQ. Bypass the first 2 pieces of ice encountered during this run. If the run is successful, you cannot access any cards.


So based on FAQ, i would say that if you do not end up on HQ, the "if successful" cannot fire

8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MavericK96 wrote:
Is "pass" the same as "bypass"? I guess in the context of Copycat it is...hmm.


These are not the same thing. However, ICE that is bypassed is also passed.

The FAQ states:

Quote:
If a piece of ice is bypassed, Copycat still triggers since the ice
is also passed.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zak Jarvis
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was wondering if there was perhaps a subtle difference between "If successful..." and "If the run is successful...".

So I looked at 'Demolition Run' for reference as that is the card given in the example for cards with "if successful" clauses in the FAQ quoted a couple of posts up. Only 'Demolition Run' doesn't seem to have an "if successful" reference at all!

Very confused now.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree it doesn't have the words "if successful"

however

Quote:
You may trash, at no cost, any cards you access (even if the cards cannot normally be trashed).


When do you access cards outside of a successful run. (Ok, Shiro comes to mind. oh boy, let's table that for now)

So the "if successful" is implied.

They also might have used it as an example to highlight that the rule applies to it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Taloncarde wrote:
When do you access cards outside of a successful run. (Ok, Shiro comes to mind. oh boy, let's table that for now)


Also Quest Completed and Raymond Flint.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
True, but those aren't in the middle of a demolition run. I was referring specifically to Demo run sorry.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Taloncarde wrote:
True, but those aren't in the middle of a demolition run. I was referring specifically to Demo run sorry.


Ah, then just Raymond Flint. If you rez Illicit ICE during the Demo Run, Raymond Flint will trigger. By the wording on Demo Run, the Raymond Flint HQ access is eligible for free trashing even if the Demo Run is on R&D or has been moved to another server.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
which as someone pointed out above, makes Demo run a really poor example of an "If successful" effect Oh well, that's on the FAQ writers not me!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.