Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hoplite» Forums » Rules

Subject: Engaged & Shock Checks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Erik Syvertsen
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Have a great day!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, I've looked a couple times for the answer to this with no luck, so:

I have an Athenian hoplite phalanx engaged with another phalanx that's in its front left and front center hexes. An enemy phalanx has now advanced after combat into its front right hex. If I draw the Athenian AM, how do I treat this situation? According to 8.12, the phalanx has to attack both units in his front (assuming no one comes to help him, and they won't in this situation), but isn't his attack vs. the engaged unit a no-TQ check while vs. the newcomer it's a check TQ?

I hope I explained it well enough; thanks for any help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Capra
United States
Prior Lake
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Erik,

The Athenian Phalanx will have kept an engaged marker from the combat with the unit in its front left and center hexes. When the Athenians AM marker is drawn it becomes activated shock capable engaged unit so it must shock with a shock-No Check marker. See the second bullet point under 8.11

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Syvertsen
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Have a great day!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Very good - thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
paradoxes wrote:
Very good - thank you!

With all that entails... death!!!
Have fun.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.