Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Smash Up: Science Fiction Double Feature» Forums » Rules

Subject: Double Shielding? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guo Hong Chin
msg tools
Recently I played a game where my friend was cyber ape/pirates. He had double shielding on his first mate with a crazy amount of other actions on it, flying around destroying bases every turn.

With double shielding, does that mean that the first mate will forever be invincible? Having two shieldings means it protects each other..

Are we playing it wrong? Is there anything that states you cannot have two on going of the same effects on a minion? Is there any other way to destroy the first mate?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
There's nothing that prevents playing 2 Shieldings on 1 minion and having them both protect one another.

That being said Shielding only protects against Actions so if you could have managed to use a minion's ability to destroy or return First Mate you could have countered him that way. Unfortunately, assuming he had buffed the First Mate, only Aliens or Ninjas could have really pulled that off.

Apes are very strong with some crazy power buffing and when you combine it with First Mate's ability things can really get out of control since actions played on a minion move with the minion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guo Hong Chin
msg tools
Thanks for the clarification. Totally missed out that it only blocks actions. Yes, it is very annoying and snowballs quickly too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.