Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Doom That Came To Atlantic City» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hastur's ability and Event cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Stopelli
Canada
Oakville
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hastur has the ability to draw 2 Chants or Providence cards and choose one to resolve.

Now add in event cards and there comes a timing question.

Event cards are instant resolve on draw. Hastur draws 2 and chooses one. What happens if Hastur draws an event card? Is it resolved and another 2 cards drawn or does the player get to pick which card is resolved regardless of type?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Chick
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
I think Keith Baker addressed this elsewhere, but you don't resolve draw abilities when you're performing the draw action on an event card. It helps to think of the text at the bottom of the event cards as saying "replace card" rather than "draw card".

So to answer your question, Hastur draws two cards. If one of them is an event, resolve it. If they're both events, resolve them (in the order drawn if they're both events). Then draw a new card to replace the event(s). So you basically keep drawing through events until you've got two non-events to choose from for Hastur's ability.

-Tom
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Suttles
msg tools
That was the ruling we made yesterday because of the immediate term in the events rule section.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.