Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: New rules and player aid cards. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mark mcleod
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Wirral
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Has anyone downloaded the updated version of the rules and player aid cards. Just wondering how the close range (before firing) and close range (after firing) works on the Escort detection chart.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brown
United States
Westfield
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On the new Player's Aid Card, there's a note below the Roll/Result portion of E2:
Quote:
* Close Range (before firing) Detection occurs on roll of
10 or higher (apply first two modifers below only)


The first two modifiers are the year modifier and KC+O+S and are grouped with a brace labelled "Close". It's similar to how E3 had the Escort and Air braces added in a previous version to delimit what modifiers apply to the attack damage rolls of successful escort or air attacks.

There is also the following modifier:
Quote:
+1 Close Range (after firing)


Is that the only info you were looking for or are you also wanting an opinion on how clear it is? I felt like things were clarified well here on the forums, but IMHO, the notes and brace make the Close (before firing) and Close (after firing) modifiers clear. Obviously YMMV.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark mcleod
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Wirral
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Close(after firing)? Seems straight forward but under 9.4.6 of the updated rules for additional round of combat states "If the U-Boat is engaging an unescorted
target and an Escort appears as a result of rolling
for an Additional Round of Combat, the U-Boat
is automatically considered submerged. No
range modifiers apply". So firing at a unescorted ship at close range but not sinking it and then escort arrives do you use the +1 modifier for detection as stated by the "close (after firing) or not as stated by " No range modifiers apply". Thanks in advance.....
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brown
United States
Westfield
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Per this reply from Jack, no range modifiers apply.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark mcleod
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Wirral
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply. One more question. On the errata sheet for the Hunters it states U-boat Combat Mat,Step 4a. Ignore passage "2d6, 10+ = Detected." Roll for Escort Detection normally and determine results per table. That's how I have played it so far. On the latest Escort Detection Chart it states that Detection occurs on roll of 10 or higher and applying the two top modifiers in the close brackets only. So they have converted back to what is on the combat mat? Watching John Kranz tutorial on additional round of combat and notice even he used the +1 modifier for close range.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Beckman
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The new rules and Escort Detection Chart are correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.