Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: yet another movement question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Movement question that came about in my groups last play through. Were all new to Descent and we had an issue that came up while playing. Couldnt find a real good answer looking throigh the other threads, so here it is.

Diagram


D represents the Dragon, H are the heroes.

Would it be possible to move the dragon all 6 spaces without having to expand him between moves? The heroes were a bit upset by me trying to do this so i relented and didnt move him past the two heros in the corridor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Thomson
Canada
Stittsville
Ontario
flag msg tools
This is the end; hold your breath and count to ten; feel the earth move and then; hear my heart burst again
badge
"We are not now that strength which in old days moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are; one equal temper of heroic hearts, made weak by time and fate, but strong in will to strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield." - Tennyson
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can't do that. There's no space for you to expand after the first movement action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that is allowable, I could be wrong and please let me know if I am but..

Rulebook pg11 wrote:
Move:The Monster moves a number of spaces up to its speed(See "Hero Turn In Detail page 8)


Hero Turn in Detail page 8 wrote:
.............a hero may perform two move actions consecutively, in which case he receives movement points equal to twice his speed
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Thomson
Canada
Stittsville
Ontario
flag msg tools
This is the end; hold your breath and count to ten; feel the earth move and then; hear my heart burst again
badge
"We are not now that strength which in old days moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are; one equal temper of heroic hearts, made weak by time and fate, but strong in will to strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield." - Tennyson
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huh. I guess it would be OK then. If so, I've been playing it wrong.

This quote seems especially important in this context:

Rulebook page 8 wrote:
Monsters follow the same movement rules as heroes when moving except that monsters cannot suffer fatigue to receive additional movement points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you definitely can do that.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sweet! Thanks for the replys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean L
United Kingdom
Coventry
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Yes you can. Obviously the down-side is you're missing out on the two extra spaces you'd gain if you could expand in between, but it's still allowed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.