Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Skirmish» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moved Apart? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Labelle
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Section 4. MAJOR BATTLE, line 5 states: ..."the units remaining are moved apart one space."

Just to be clear. BOTH units are moved?

One in one direction away from the battle spot and the other in the opposite direction away from the battle spot?

Or is the loser just moved one spot away while the victor stays put on the battle spot?

I tend to think it is both that are moved in this situation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That one has to be house ruled. Either both move away one space or the loser moves away one. Pick one before the game. I think though the rules mean to imply the former.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Labelle
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree. This needs to be understood and decided before a game is played.

The PDF of the rules in the file section is full of the author's "interpretations" and subtle personal rule changes. It has the "winner" deciding "who" moves and the "owning player" deciding "where" to move. (A totally made up rule!!!)

This sounds great but falls short because it doesn't address Rule E.:
"If a tie results, neither player removes units."

No winner. What do you do then?

If you interpret "moved apart one space" as moving one player's units just to an "adjacent spot", then you could "house rule" that the Player WHO'S TURN IT'S ON is the one who has to move.

Win, Lose or Tie, it works.

The benefit of this interpretation is it also has a similar outcome with the Skirmish Card that reads:

"BRITISH LOSE ONE UNIT
Then Have A MAJOR BATTLE
(Rules For Major Battle Apply)"


You see, on the Skirmish Card, a Major Battle differs from a Major Battle instigated by "exact count" because the two forces are adjacent and NOT in the SAME spot. There is no need to "move apart" afterwards because they start that way.

One could argue that the "end result" of BOTH kinds of Major Battles should be identical.

This way of thinking would suggest that the proper interpretation of the original question is that "move apart one space" means "make adjacent " to the battle spot.

In the end, it's up to the players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.