Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

Hi all,

I just started playing this game... have both Aces High and Guns Blazing. It took a couple read-throughs of the rules to answer most of my newbie questions. However, one or two still nag...

One of my questions concerns Burst math and turn limits:

I'm confused by the wording on pg 8, in the description for 'Tailing':
[Your fighter gains]"...(just 2 extra Bursts, if 1 has already been gained from being Advantaged.)"

These following core rules are straight-forward:
- While your fighter is Advantaged, you get to add 1 Burst to your inherent rating. Simple enough.
- Or while your fighter is tailing, you get to add 3 Bursts to your inherent rating. Again, simple enough and makes sense.

So I'm confused by the above-mentioned quote from pg 8.

Lets pretend my fighter has zero inherent Bursts. The way the rules are written, it appears that I can maneuver into an Advantaged position and attack my opponent with a 1 Burst cost card. Then for my next action, I should be able to maneuver into a Tailing position and be able to attack with a 3 Burst card.

* I couldn't find anything in the core rules to contradict the above, except the quote from pg 8, which I couldn't find any basis for. Hence my question, what does the quote mean?

NOTE:
My search for an answer here in this forum has uncovered several references, even from Dan himself, to a "Turn Limit" for Bursts.
The only place in the rules that mentions a turn limit is on page 19, in the OPTIONAL RULES section, and under the paragraph labeled, "Playing Bursts Against Different Aircraft"

So right now, all I'm going-on is Dan's authoritative comment elsewhere in this forum that yes, there are turn limits for Bursts. But I'm the type that likes to produce a published reference for a rule when the needs calls.