Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement cost of cards while in outer Worlds Clafication rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Frank
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I can't remember the exact card, but there is a spell or unique item that you sacrifice some movement (I think it is 1) and you get clues (can't remember if it has a check or not) and discard the item. If the player uses this in the Outer Worlds area, does that mean they don't move or can they still move since you only move 1 space at a time while out of Arkham?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Howard Burdett
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
I SHALL DESTROY ALL THE CIVILIZED PLANETS
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that characters receive no movement points when in Outer Worlds areas, and hence the item or spell in question cannot be used at all.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Frank
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That would make sense, in that case if they come back to Arkham but don't move during the movement phase aka want to close a gate, can they still use the card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swan Bones
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, because (unlike the Outer Worlds) they still receive movement points in Arkham even if they don't want to move.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Frank
United States
Walnut Creek
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Howard Burdett
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
I SHALL DESTROY ALL THE CIVILIZED PLANETS
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed. They won't get any movement points until the next Movement phase (and hence couldn't move away from the gate on the turn they return, even if they wanted to). Since characters would hardly ever want to move away without closing a gate, this is not a problem... except in the case you have identified here If those clues (usually from a Tome, as I recall) are needed for sealing, the character may have to wait a round. That's always been my understanding, anyway.

EDIT for clarification after ninja'd comments: on the round they return to Arkham, they won't receive any movement points (their Movement phase was taken up by the return to Arkham), but in following turns they will receive movement points as normal, whether or not they choose to use them.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.