Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: Additional rounds of combat. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mark mcleod
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Wirral
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If combat against a unescorted ship at close range goes into an additional round of combat and a escort shows up, if undetected can I abandon the encounter or do I still have to roll again for detection a second time for being at close range?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mark,
After rereading the rules, which are not Cristal clear, and going over Lines42's flow chart, which he was in collaboration with the designers on, it looks to be that you may break off combat without a second "Cycle" of depth charges.

ie:
1) U-Boat Attacks at close range.
2) Escort resolves Detection. (DETECTED!)
3) Resolve escort attacks till you are not detected.
4) Repair and Return Torpedoes to the ship. (No attack allowed)
5) Move to the next travel box to look for more targets or return to port.

Now if you were not detected and you fired on the target ship then you would still have to roll for a second escort detection as they are still looking for your U-Boat.


Hope this helps!
Jim P cool

Sorry I totally answered the wrong question here with my example... Additional rounds of combat due not take range into account. You are assumed to have seen the escort coming and you dive immediately (as stated by Mike.) Here is the rules section in the 2.5 version:

[9.4.5] Additional rounds of combat are only
permissible against unescorted ship targets.
[9.4.6] If the U-Boat is engaging an unescorted
target and an Escort appears as a result of rolling
for an Additional Round of Combat, the U-Boat
is automatically considered submerged. No
range modifiers apply
. Note: U-Boats may never
be on the surface when Escorts are present
during the day. They have effectively spotted the
approaching Escort from a distance and have
since submerged.


Sorry for the hick-up
Jim P
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Raymond
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
Just an opinion here.

[9.4.6] of the errata says that in your situation you automatically dive as you do see the escort approaching.

The rules say to attack is always your decision, so is to cancel the attack. I think you could slip away without having to roll for detection.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Beckman
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As noted above, you see the coming Escort and dive; you are not considered to be at close range.

Just to be clear - Lines did this on his own; he did not collaborate with us on his flow chart.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JackBeckman wrote:
As noted above, you see the coming Escort and dive; you are not considered to be at close range.

Just to be clear - Lines did this on his own; he did not collaborate with us on his flow chart
.


Sorry, I thought he wast working with you guys after his first posting!? my bad.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark mcleod
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Wirral
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to all that replied, that helps a lot.....
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.