Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Andean Abyss» Forums » Rules

Subject: Repairing Sabotaged LoC's? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
PC Principal
Finland
Joensuu
flag msg tools
TRIGGERED!
badge
SOCAIL JUSTIEC!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During Campaigns, is there any way to remove Sabotage (for some reason, Beastie Boys is playing in my head right now) from LoC's? Any mention of such a method eluded me in the rulebook.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Card 51 Pipeline Repairs-- "Remove all Pipeline Sabotage or, if none, Government Resources +12"

You do know that all sabotage is also automatically removed at the end of a Propaganda phase, right?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PC Principal
Finland
Joensuu
flag msg tools
TRIGGERED!
badge
SOCAIL JUSTIEC!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, and yes. I should have specified "other than Propaganda or Events".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahh, then no. You are stuck with patrol and kicking the guerrills off the LoC's and maintaining a police presence on them so that they are not sabotaged in the Prop round.
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Novak
msg tools
So to clarify this:

If FARC or AUC have been able to place a Sabotage marker on a LoC during the campaign, the sabotaged LoC will remain sabotaged until the end of the Propaganda Round no matter what?

So the only way the Government can hinder sabotage on LoCs is by Police Patrol (+ Assault) to keep Guerillas from Sabotaging the LoC in the first place?

The Insurgent can only sabotage a LoC if executing a terror operation with at least 1 x Underground Guerilla on a LoC where there is more Guerillas than Police?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Drnovak77 wrote:
So to clarify this:

If FARC or AUC have been able to place a Sabotage marker on a LoC during the campaign, the sabotaged LoC will remain sabotaged until the end of the Propaganda Round no matter what?

Not quite. As mentioned above the unshaded version of Event #51 "Pipeline Repairs" can allow the Government to remove Sabotage during a Campaign; and the unshaded Government Capability "7th Special Forces" (Event #7) can allow them to remove 1-3 Sabotage markers during the Control Phase early in the Propaganda Round (i.e., before Resources are collected).

Except for those two cards, Sabotaged LoCs do remain Sabotaged until the Reset Phase at the end of the Propaganda Round.

Quote:
So the only way the Government can hinder sabotage on LoCs is by Police Patrol (+ Assault) to keep Guerillas from Sabotaging the LoC in the first place?

Troops can Patrol too, not just Police, and the Guerrillas that are Activated by the Patrol can be removed by Air Strike as well as Assault; but essentially yes.

Quote:
The Insurgent can only sabotage a LoC if executing a terror operation with at least 1 x Underground Guerilla on a LoC where there is more Guerillas than Police?

No.

A Terror Operation (3.3.4) during the Campaign can Sabotage a LoC regardless of the number of Police or Troops there; but Terror requires an Underground Guerrilla, and if there are too many Government cubes on a LoC it can be difficult to get an Underground Guerrilla there.

Several Events also allow the Insurgents to Sabotage LoCs - in some cases even if there are no Guerrillas there.

During the Control Phase of the Propaganda Round (6.2), all LoCs with more Guerrillas (of all Insurgent Factions combined) than Government cubes are automatically Sabotaged. If the shaded version of "7th Special Forces" is in effect, the LoC will even be Sabotaged if the Guerrillas equal the number of cubes.

Regards,
Oerjan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Novak
msg tools
Excellent, that really cleared things up.

We played our second campaign on saturday but had, as you can tell, issues with LoCs in particular.

Cheers Oerjan, greetings from Norway!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.