Do players get VP's for minions that get destroyed when they score the Cave of Shinies?
Cave of Shinies - After each time a minion is destroyed here, its owner gains 1 VP.
Minions are never destroyed when a base is scored.
Smash Up Base Game Rulebook, page 6 wrote:
After scoring, players can use Special abilities that happen “after” a base scores. Then all cards still on that base go to their owners’ discard piles. This does not destroy them, but might trigger abilities that happen when they go to the discard pile.