Hide
18 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » General

Subject: Help teaching a dyslexic gamer. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
geof jenkins
msg tools
I'm trying to get my girlfriend into Attack Wing, but she is having trouble with making turns due to her pretty severe dyslexia(she often turns the wrong way). I always let her take the moves back but she still gets frustrated. Anyone have experience with this? We could really use some tips.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Penguin Bonaparte
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've got no experience, but would letting her check templates while you look away help? Or maybe get two sets and color them (and the dials) for left and right? If it would help I'd send you an extra set of cardboard!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
geof jenkins
msg tools
I like the idea of letting her check the move in advance. Great idea.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Tsuk
United States
Cupertino
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I often make the same mistake if the ship is facing at all towards me. To help avoid it I always hold the dial so the its window is lined up with the front of the ship and then make sure the arrow in the window points in the direction I want to turn.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
geof jenkins
msg tools
I've tried that and it helps a little but she still gets them confused pretty often. Thanks for the tip though.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Tsuk
United States
Cupertino
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps replace the dials with a small deck of cards with the various moves, wings of war style? That way you could have text, colors and symbols to see if that helps at all.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Lepperd
msg tools