Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Robinson Crusoe: Adventures on the Cursed Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pistol clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Stoop
Netherlands
Nijmegen
Gelderland
flag msg tools
One little question about the pistol card. What does temporarily mean in this case? Is it a full round or just one phase, e.g. the event phase?

I can't find it anywhere.

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter de Boer
Austria
Velden
Carinthia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just when you are comparing your strength with a beast.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whenever something gives you temporary strength, it just helps with the direct confrontation with the opponent in question.

Say, a Beast has
- Strength 6
- Weapon Damage 3
- Palisades -1 (on Adventure cards this exists)
- Food 2
- Fur 2
Receive extra damage if you do not have Cure

Now, if you have a Weapon Level of 1, you can use the Pistol to raise your WL to 4 (or even to 7 if you use both charges at once). You compare that with the Strength of the Beast, and suffer the difference in wounds (2 or 0 in this example).
This is where the increase by temporary strength ends!
You THEN damage your Weapon Level, receiving 1 Damage for each Unfulfilled Demand step (2 wound in this example).
You then lower your Palisades, receiving Damage for unfulfilled demand
You gain food and fur
And you finally suffer more damage if you do not have the Cure.

Hopefully that clears things up a bit.

All the best,
Dumon

Edit:
Corrected the example...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven O'Shea
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dumon wrote:
Whenever something gives you temporary strength, it just helps with the direct confrontation with the opponent in question.

Say, a Beast has
- Strength 4
- Weapon Damage 3
- Palisades -1 (on Adventure cards this exists)
- Food 2
- Fur 2
Receive extra damage if you do not have Cure

Now, if you have a Weapon Level of 2, you can use the Pistol to raise your WL to 3 (or even to 4 if you use both charges at once). You compare that with the Strength of the Beast, and suffer the difference in wounds (1 or 0 in this example).
This is where the increase by temporary strength ends!
You THEN damage your Weapon Level, receiving 1 Damage for each Unfulfilled Demand step (1 wound in this example).
You then lower your Palisades, receiving Damage for unfulfilled demand
You gain food and fur
And you finally suffer more damage if you do not have the Cure.

Hopefully that clears things up a bit.

All the best,
Dumon


This is correct in how it works, but the pistol gives a temporary bonus of +3...so in the example, if you had a weapon level of 2 and used the pistol once, it would temporarily bring the level up to a 5.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh yeah.
Sorry, forgot how much the pistol added. Brain on overload, need holiday. Fortunately, got one lined up...


Edit:
Corrected the example above, so that the numbers match...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Stoop
Netherlands
Nijmegen
Gelderland
flag msg tools
Thanks you guys for the examples and clarifications. I love thuis game nut sometimes it's difficult to do the right thing.

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.