Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Wilderness War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resolving step losses from a Battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex N
United States
Metuchen
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After reading and re-reading the rules under step losses in Section 7.0 I'm still not sure which interpretation is correct in the following situation:

Say the French under the command of Montcalm consists of 3 full-strength Regulars, 3 reduced-strength Regulars, and 4 full strength Indians. They battle against Wolf and lose resulting into a 8 step loss for the French.

I know half of those 8 step losses must be inflicted on the Regulars. So which scenario is correct:

A) Reduce 3 Regulars and Eliminate 1 Reduced Regular
B) Reduce 1 Regular and Eliminate 3 Reduced Regulars

Once all the regulars are reduced, is it then up to Montcalm to determine how the remaining 4 step losses are inflicted on his remaining regulars and full-strength Indians?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A) is correct for the Regulars. No units may be eliminated until all are reduced, except to satisfy the required number of losses from Regulars. So in the example above, the four remaining step losses MUST come from the Indians.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex N
United States
Metuchen
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dirubin wrote:
A) is correct for the Regulars. No units may be eliminated until all are reduced, except to satisfy the required number of losses from Regulars. So in the example above, the four remaining step losses MUST come from the Indians.


This response from Professor Dave clearly makes sense and brings this issue to a quick and speedy resolution. Thank you oh wise Master! ninja
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.