Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fire Team» Forums » Rules

Subject: Victory Conditions for Scenario 1 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Bishop
United Kingdom
Lytham St. Annes
Lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
About to start a solo game of this on a basic Vassal module that I have knocked up just for the infantry.

I had looked at the set-up and victory conditions for the first scenario before but now I am actually wanting to play it I read them in more detail.

I've come to the conclusion I am missing something or they are badly written.
The soviet player wins by gaining 6 VP's and he gets a VP for each building hex in Rasdorf or Ehrenberg that he controls. However he can set up in any of the hexes south of the road and this includes eight hexes in Ehrenburg - so he can start with 8 VP's and then it would be up to the US player to attack and take these off him!

This doesn't seem right as the scenario suggests a Soviet attack and they outnumber the US forces.

I will probably just rule that the Soviet only gets points for town hexes North of the road and might have assumed this anyway were it not for the fact that the scenario also specifically states that the Soviet controls 1721 and 1722 before the game starts even if not actually set-up there.

Anyone else been confused by these Victory Conditions?




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't spot anything helpful at http://grognard.com/titlef.html nor on http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX/.ee6e29a.

My guess is that it is supposed to just be the Multi-Story Buildings, not all three types of building hexes.

You could try and PM the designer:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/user/jsouthard
...but he has not logged in since July 1st, 2011.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Clarke
Canada
Surrey
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bishuk wrote:
Anyone else been confused by these Victory Conditions?

They seem pretty clear, the Soviet Player can split his force and make things difficult for the American. Or, as you say, set up in the undefended town and defend.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bishop
United Kingdom
Lytham St. Annes
Lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WBRP wrote:
I can't spot anything helpful at http://grognard.com/titlef.html nor on http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX/.ee6e29a.

My guess is that it is supposed to just be the Multi-Story Buildings, not all three types of building hexes.

You could try and PM the designer:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/user/jsouthard
...but he has not logged in since July 1st, 2011.


That makes a lot more sense as there are only 7 multi-storey hexes so the Soviets would have to capture 4 more to win or in some combination with the US HQ counter that is worth 3 VP's.

Also explains why 1721 and 1722 are specifically mentioned as these are multi storey.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Southard
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer

Steve et al., please forgive me for taking so long to find this thread; one of you kindly called my attention to it. I'm embarrassed to say you've found a real defect here. After this many years I don't remember what our intent was, but the community's solution of using multi-story building hexes seems a very good one to me. That is probably what was meant, and two words got dropped out. Thanks for pointing this out and I apologize for the mistake!
5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bishop
United Kingdom
Lytham St. Annes
Lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jsouthard wrote:

Steve et al., please forgive me for taking so long to find this thread; one of you kindly called my attention to it. I'm embarrassed to say you've found a real defect here. After this many years I don't remember what our intent was, but the community's solution of using multi-story building hexes seems a very good one to me. That is probably what was meant, and two words got dropped out. Thanks for pointing this out and I apologize for the mistake!


No apology required

Thanks for the clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.