4 Posts

Tactical Combat Series» Forums » General

Subject: arty vs tanks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
olivier R
France
flag msg tools
Does anyone else feel that arty is too effective against tanks?

This is something that has been bothering me a little since I started playing TCS. 10+ on two dice, this is 16,7% for each step in the hex, if I am not mistaken. Of course it goes down to 8,33% if you put your tanks in move mode. But this is without fast fire. It sounds a bit high to me. In the games I have played so far, it feels like artillery is the main killer of tanks, which sounds wrong. AT guns should be the main tank killers not arty imo.

But it goes beyond the mere probabilities; my main gripe with it is about the way it influences the behaviour of players. Often you have tanks getting in position to fire at the defense and with the rules as they are now, the answer seems to be to place a fast fire barrage on the tanks. This way they either get into move mode and then they can't fire an SFA because you have to be in fire mode at the beginning of the action phase or they decide to stay put and suffer crippling losses. And what does it lead to? It leads to tanks being unable to provide fire support and do what they're supposed to do i.e. pummel infantry with HE or having to abandon the field if they try to stand their ground