Subject: Hooker and Lee and Berg and What? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Rush
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I respect Pete Belli, and I know under the folio listing for this game he has a very enthusiastic assessment of this game, but I did not see anything near that positive on this play through. True, this is my first time playing it, and I am no expert on the American Civil War (or wargames), but this little game did not match up my expectation of playing a game by Richard Berg. I acknowledge that is a bit unfair, since he has dozens of games, some good some not, and this was early in his career, but the sense I got from this - from before even playing it, straight from reading the rules - was this scenario only exists because of the Grand Campaign option of adding Fredericksburg to Hooker and Lee. While this is an exciting idea, and I'm sure at the time the existence of a "grand campaign" with multiple maps was entertaining to several players (not that it hadn't happened before '75), the absence of attention on making this particular folio game work is disappointing. I don't understand why each quad had to have a clunker, especially when different designers were working on them (other than the ridiculous pace and workload SPI was putting on their small staff at the time, I guess).

It could probably be fixed quite easily. If the game had more play turns than the rapid 9, it's quite possible this game would work very well. This sounds more like a review than a session report, but that is the more exciting part of my "report."