Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Bull Run» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat when unit starts in fords? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Haupt
United States
Auburn
California
flag msg tools
mb
Fords are one of the major obstacles/control points in Bull Run. My son and I had been playing recently and realized we had a slightly different interpretation of the retreat rules (7.8). In particular, 7.83, "a retreating unit is eliminated if moving in any of the ways below". The fourth bullet point states:

"It is eliminated if it moved through (into and out of) a ford or ABATIS marker. A piece can retreat onto a ford of ABATIS if this ends its retreat. Note: Pieces retreating into a ford do not count against the 8 points that can enter that ford that player-turn."

So the interesting point is what happens when a attacker/defender is starting in the ford? (besides the pain of halving its relevant attack/defense factors).

Curious what other folks do here. We're playing that it eliminates the unit on a retreat, which is harsher.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles McLellan
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
Units in a ford are not eliminated if they are required to retreat out of the ford provided that no other condition exists that would cause their elimination.

Only units that are required to retreat into and then out of a ford (through the ford) are eliminated.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.