Nicola Bocchetta
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I know this sounds like a newbie question, and I'm not a newbie anymore, but this doubt arised today.

Does the "reduce armor and one attack of chosen enemy by 1" ability of shocktroops only works during the block (and following) phase, or can I reduce the armor even during the ranged attack phase?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
hulu hulu
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe You can unless the skill say otherwise.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Yan
China
Shanghai
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
irtranquil wrote:
I believe You can unless the skill say otherwise.

Icon matters. This ability comes with a shield icon, indicating that you can only play it in during the block phase.

In one of the PBF's I moderated I judged so.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicola Bocchetta
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But the shield icon is different from the normal shield icon used to indicate block (that is a black shield, on this ability it's an empty shield).

If you take Familiars, it has a black shield for its Block ability. Why this one has a white/empty shield?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicola Bocchetta
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's suppose that the designers had decided to make it available in both ranged and normal attack phases. What icon should they have used?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Yan
China
Shanghai
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Faso74it wrote:
But the shield icon is different from the normal shield icon used to indicate block (that is a black shield, on this ability it's an empty shield).

If you take Familiars, it has a black shield for its Block ability. Why this one has a white/empty shield?

This "hollow shield" icon indicates a special combat ability in block phase, in contrast to a "real" blocking effect indicated by a solid shield icon.

You may see other examples on Illusionists, Atomep Freezers and some other LL units.