Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

The Legend of Robin Hood» Forums » Rules

Subject: Robin Hood in disguise when wounded... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Diffenderfer
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Robin Hood went to recruit Friar Tuck, unescorted and in disguise. He failed to recruit Tuck and was wounded. Can he remain in disquise? 10.2 says [when wounded] "He also may not disguise himself or attempt recruitment."

But what if he was ALREADY in disguise when wounded? Can he maintain the disguise or must he lose it because he's wounded?

Thanks for your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I wouldn't exactly call myself experienced with this game, as I haven't played it 20 years.

But I don't see any rule that says the disguise is lifted. The rule merely prevents Robin from actively disguising himself while wounded.

Further makes it 'no sense' (if one is allowed to apply this to a game that has plenty of abstractions) as to why Friar Tuck (and everybody else who happend to pass by) would automatically 'recognize' the stranger just because he had received a minor wound.

But if Robin is his normal outfit when being wounded may he not have the time or strength to change his attire during the round he is recovering.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey D Myers
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
"Always rely upon a happy mind alone." Geshe Chekhawa.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mik, your theory seems quite reasonable....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
The Freedom Rider - Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers
badge
The Brief and Frightening Reign of Phil - George Saunders
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say he remains in disguise. However, remember that if Sherrif units enter the area, they get to roll a die and recognize him on a 5 or 6 (4, 5 or 6 if a Sherrif Leader is present). If recognized, Robin will be automatically captured due to the wound.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Diffenderfer
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Thanks All! Sure appreciate your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Diffenderfer
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Well, we played it the other way. We had a cool email game going...but judged that RH lost his disguise when he got wounded. A Man-at-Arms (with Merry Men hot on his trail) jumped on the wounded Robin and Robin died in the capture....(rolled a 1). We called the game a Sheriff victory.

The Robin player protested, and now it seems he was right. Today we rolled the belated recognition roll and the Man-at-Arms failed to recognize Robin...so now Robin lives, it's his move, and he's recovered from his wound!

If only Robin will come back to the table now....(he's still grumpy with us)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Stevens
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
Games: Design 'em, rewrite 'em, play 'em!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played this game over and over for years and always assumed that Robin could not recruit while in disguise. On seeing the question here I went to look and found no mention of any such restriction in the rules.
Although leaders cannot lead while in disguise (since its obvious who they are when leading a band of Merry Men) there seems to be no reason why they can't recruit in disguise. I guess its fair enough that just because Robin must reveal his identity to the person being recruited he doesn't have to come out of his disguise. If he gets wounded then he is in disguise and wounded. He just can't adopt a disguise if he is wounded already.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Diffenderfer
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
I think Robin Hood should be able to recruit leaders while in disguise, but to recruit or lead Merry Men he would have to leave his disguise.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Diffenderfer
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
We've actually played that he can recruit Merry Men units while in disguise, but not "lead" them...interpreted as not being able to move them OR lend his archery modifier in combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A Voice In the Wilderness
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
This appears to be a fairly old thread, but here's my two cents anyway...

I imagine that if translated into some other less temporally-concerned language, the phrase, "He also may not disguise himself..." would carry the sense of also not being able to remain disguised - it seems to almost comes through that way in the English language, but unfortunately we're left hanging a little bit.

Perhaps a simple way to avoid confusion is to require the Robin Hood player to declare at the beginning of each turn if Hood is disguised or not. If he was wounded the previous turn, Robin Hood would consequently be forced to shed his disguise at the beginning of his next turn, thus respecting the prohibition against disguising himself while wounded. In this way his disguise will protect him for the turn he is wounded, but after that he will have to recover before re-entering the disguised state(I'd like to think that's a nice compromise).

Another line of thought could be that Recruitment Combat is actually a form of Personal Combat, and therefore prohibited if Robin Hood is disguised. He would then be required to shed his disguise before attempting to recruit Little John, Will Scarlet or Friar Tuck. If that is accepted as being the case, it would be logical, and more simple, then, for Robin Hood to have to be undisguised when attempting to recruit any other leaders or Merry Men(perhaps some form of covert Recruitment Combat takes place wherein Robin is always the unscathed winner). Otherwise, the rules seem to have deliberately omitted any requirement for RH to be undisguised when attempting to recruit the leaders or Merry Men, which makes me think the original intent was for it to be allowed.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.