12 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Speed Up game tempo rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
South Africa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm fairly new to board gaming and Descent is my first "hardcore" game (and I'm in love with it BTW ).

I've played more than half of the campaign with just one other player (me as OL, he's using 2 heroes).

We recently started another campaign, this time with 4 hero players and me as OL again.

The problem I'm having is the incredibly slow pace the other players take. None of them are experienced board game players but they're all video gamers and have no problem understanding the concepts etc. It's just that it takes them forever to decide what to do on their turn and it's driving me nuts angry They're constantly changing their strategies (most of the time in the middle of an action) and disagreeing about the actions they should take.

We played the 1st encounter of A Fat Goblin the other night and it took us 4 hours to complete. The hero's round take about 20 - 30 minutes, then my OL turn is around 5 min.

Two of the players have strong personalities and leadership traits; and they tend to disagree about what each hero should do on their turn etc. I've asked them to speed up their decisions and leave the choice of what to do to each individual player instead of trying to dictate actions to the other players.

Without destroying friendships or ruining the evening, how can I get them to speed up their decisions? Any hints or tips?

I love the game, but I really don't want to spend the next 8 months on a single campaing :|

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raymond Morehouse
United States
Redlands
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
We have the same problem. We have been debating instituting a soft time limit to hero turns, maybe 15 minutes, but haven't tried it yet.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Walker
United States
Madison Heights
Virginia
flag msg tools