Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Sanfilippo
United States
ISSAQUAH
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Finally after all these years I understand what a P-500 is. My question is, why would this not work for Games like Carson City that so may people want reprinted? Make it a P-1000 or something

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lieven De Puysseleir
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
trust me, I'm a dentist
badge
we don't lie, we use statistics
mbmbmbmbmb
Because the 500 in p-500 does not refer to the amount of games but the amount of votes one game needs to be eligible for printing. (I guess)

Or maybe they also just print 500 per run?

It could probably work for any other game company I guess.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Brown
United States
Okemos
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The 500 is the amount of orders they get. Once they know they can do 500, they become willing to do a print run and will print additional copies for stores.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Carter
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lievendp wrote:
Because the 500 in p-500 does not refer to the amount of games but the amount of votes one game needs to be eligible for printing. (I guess)

Or maybe they also just print 500 per run?

It could probably work for any other game company I guess.

P-500 just means they won't start the production process of a game until it has near 500 preorders or more.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Tamburo
United States
Justice
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The 500 is the number of pre sold games the publisher needs to fund the print run. Of course printing costs have risen since the inception of P-500 (created by GMT Games) so in reality they need more like 700 preorders to fully fund the print run but still consider 500 to be "close enough" to get it into queue.