Got two game tables and a microphone
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Right now, I am suffering from what I can only call crushing boredom and lack of energy. The only thing I really have the energy to do is type this message; I've been thinking of doing this for a while.

I am a 46 year old person, go to work every scheduled day (right now working about 70-80 hours a week). I serve as a union representative and represent about 350 fellow workers. I have a Masters degree in education. And yes, I have suffered from bipolar disorder for 46 years.

Gaming has helped me take my mind of my depression, my anxieties and troubles for over fifteen years. I came back to the hobby as an adult in 2003. It was never the act of gaming that helped, it has been the awesome people I have gamed with.

Here comes the Wil Wheaton part. Had the opportunity to briefly meet Wil at GenCon, thanked him for his contribution to the hobby. Wil said he is just an ordinary guy. I know he is, but at the same time: I'm sorry, right now you aren't. Wil has a great voice in the hobby, and he is using that voice with extraordinary grace, intelligence and passion.

About three or four months ago, I was struggling to stay on my medication. It's expensive, and I am an adult. I should be able to control myself on my own. It was about that time the "nerd" speech went viral. Now, I did some searching on YouTube, and Wil Wheaton did a very impassioned speech about how people struggling with depression need to get help, all while wearing googly eyes. Here is a link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXBlke_is3I

I love this hobby. Not because of the games so much (although I do like solving puzzles and play solo from time to time). It is ALL the awesome people I have met:

Pete "Superfly" Ruth
Shellie Rose and all the FortressAT guys
Chris Palermo and Long Island Boardgaming Organization
Steve Kurzban and the LI-Gamer guys