Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Navajo Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Intruder Mission Chits...are they Missions or Ranchos in the Mexican Period? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Cooper
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mb
I know--seems like a dumb question, but I just love clarity, and I've looked all through the Q&A and find nothing.

During the Mexican Period, when one reveals an Intruder Mission counter, is it considered a Rancho for all purposes? Arability impact, removal during Historical Events, etc.?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tucker Taylor
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Is your score positive? You win! (Some players win more than others.)
badge
A woman needs a man like a fish needs a saxophone.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd always assumed it would be a Mission, and able to coexist with a Rancho.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr. Urza, PhD of Dungeon Crawl
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. Missions are missions, and Ranchos are ranchos. The intruder Mission is placed even if that territory already has a Rancho, and the Mexicans (and Americans) will still build one there even if a Mission is already present.

Yes, this makes the early part of the Spanish period in the campaign game challenging, as Ranchos are getting build while you're still mopping up the Missions from the Spanish period.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Missions are always Missions. Ranchos are always Ranchos.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.