1 , 2  Next »   | 

Terra Mystica» Forums » General

Subject: Faction rebalancing seems pretty trivial in this game... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A M
msg tools
mb
So I just started playing this game the other day, and like often happens to me, once I find something I like I get a bit obsessive about it. So I've read a whole lot of faction strategy, including the fact that most people seem to agree that the factions are fairly imbalanced. Many people also seem to agree with at least general tier rankings for the different factions.

Now, I'm kind of amazed that I haven't seen what seems like a trivial solution to the problem. Rebalancing factions by changing their starting scores seems virtually baked into the game, because scoring starts at 20. There's a fairly large corpus of data over at Snellman, and the statistics include an average score stat. They range from Fakirs, with an average score of 108, to Darklings at 124. So, to me, the obvious thing would be to start Darklings at 12 points, and Fakirs at 28 points.

I'm not saying that this is precisely how you should design the system. For example, I'm trivializing the fact that score doesn't precisely predict victory. Dwarves, for instance, with the 4th lowest win % at 24, still have an average score of 116, right in the middle. But from what I've seen, there are plenty of strong statisticians on the TM forums, and I'm sure there's someone who could say what a better method of capturing that relationship would be. The point would be the goal - in an ideal game, each faction would have an equal chance of winning. Darklings might be more powerful, but you shouldn't have a huge advantage just because you had the opportunity to choose them. It's your job as a player to capitalize on that advantage in the game.