Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Le Retour de l'Empereur» Forums » Rules

Subject: Artillery with Square checking morale rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Weinstein
South Africa
Bellville
Western Cape
flag msg tools
mbmb
When a stack checks morale to form square in reaction to a cavalry charge; I gather it's the infantry's morale that is used, even if there's an artillery on top of the stack?
If this is then the case, what happens when the infantry fails the morale check; does the artillery unit on the top of the stack check morale, but without the minus 2 modifier? (As there was no unit above it in the stack that failed its morale check.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Didier Rouy
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
That is a tricky one.

No the artillery does not check morale, as it does not "try to form square". The disorganized infantry (as it missed the roll) stays wherever it is and wait for the shock. The artillery will just count in the melee, but it is a very rare case where both a D and a non D unit can be on the same spot (but not for long, as after the melee, whatever its result, the D infantry will retreat two hexes).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.