Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeffrey Day
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi All,

I'm new to using PayPal and not sure which options you're supposed to use when buying games from other members. I'm a bit confused about the transaction fees and which party (seller or buyer) pays it. Better yet, is there a way for both to avoid it? Doesn't seem likely as they have to make money someway.

On the Send Money screen, do you choose the Buy Goods or Send Money to Family/Friends option? (The Buy Goods option seems to force the fee on the seller.)

After that, which of the payment methods do you use? I have my credit card and bank account linked.

I don't want to short-change anyone by using the incorrect option.

Thanks,

Flame Point Crispin (The greatest Siamese cat that ever lived.)

P.S. Yes, I was too lazy to go through the 20 pages of threads that a "paypal" search of the New User Forum generated.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Bird
United Kingdom
Keston
Kent
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sellers know the deal and expect to incur fees for the convenience of their being able to use Paypal. You can go right ahead and use the 'Buy Goods' option unless the seller has specifically asked otherwise. You could also ask the seller to invoice you. What happens here is that the seller just requests money from you via their own Paypal account. This is probably best.

You could use the 'Family/Friends' option, although then you'll incur a slight fee (at least here in the UK, if we send money abroad we do), but the seller won't. However, you wouldn't do that in a restaurant or a shop, so I see no need for you to do so here.

Paypal is normally pretty good (in my experience) should anything go wrong, so feel free to use whichever account you like. That said, should anything go wrong, I don't suppose it'll hurt having the extra clout of a credit card company backing you, so you might wish to go that route over your bank account.