Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Escape from the Aliens in Outer Space» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can aliens stay still? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek Anderson
United States
alpine
ut
flag msg tools
The rules say that an alien can move up to 2 spaces each turn. Can the aliens move a space and then move back to the space they started in that turn? Essentially letting them stay still?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lloyd
United Kingdom
Camden
London
flag msg tools
badge
This game is bullshit.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From memory, yes, though they must still announce if they end their turn on a noisy space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Kline

Bakersfield
California
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under Game Turns in the manual:

Quote:
During each round, starting with the First Player and going clockwise, each player must move his character. Your character type determines the distance you can move:

Humans move only one sector
Aliens move one or two sectors

...

You can never end your turn in the same sector you started in. You must move every round.


While you could house rule that aliens can stay still (I think this might offer an unfair advantage to the aliens). The official rules say no.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve S
United States
Roscoe
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mitbnet wrote:
Under Game Turns in the manual:

Quote:
During each round, starting with the First Player and going clockwise, each player must move his character. Your character type determines the distance you can move:

Humans move only one sector
Aliens move one or two sectors

...

You can never end your turn in the same sector you started in. You must move every round.


While you could house rule that aliens can stay still (I think this might offer an unfair advantage to the aliens). The official rules say no.


Actually, they say you must move.
Aliens get two moves - so if they move, and then move again to the space they just left - that's still moving.

This same question came up the last time we played - we interpreted it to mean the aliens can do this since there's nothing saying they can't.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Rinaldi
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Quote:
During each round, starting with the First Player and going clockwise, each player must move his character. Your character type determines the distance you can move:

Humans move only one sector
Aliens move one or two sectors

...

You can never end your turn in the same sector you started in. You must move every round.


This sentence states very clearly that you can't.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve S
United States
Roscoe
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
modest
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.