Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Cadwallon: City of Thieves» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Question: Leaving the District rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Coey
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the "original" rules, it states:

"It cost 1 Movement to leave the district from the Deployment Space"

However, the Revised Edition rules, that sentence is no longer in the book, but the 'Leaving the District" rule now state:

"It costs one action point to move off the board from a Deployment Space"

...and yet the "example" shows a player simply leaving the district by spending ONE action point for Movement, then leaving immediately, with no mention of any addition "Action Point" cost.

It has been argued with my playgroup that the meaning behind the addition rule (about it costing one action point to move off the board from a Deployment space) was that if a character is standing on a deployment space, they can pay one action point to leave the district. Thus, by that ruling, they could MOVE during their turn and spend all of their movement points to end up on the deployment space (but not enough to leave), and then take the "Action" of leaving the deployment space (assuming they have not already taken an action that turn) for an addition Action Point. The argument is: This must be the meaning, otherwise, why would the rule be specifically stated in the revised rulebook.

The alternative argument is that this is a typo, and that the sentence should read the same as it did in the original rules: meaning, it simply states that the act of moving from a deployment space to a "space" off the board costs an addition movement (and a character isn't simply off the board by landing on a deployment space.)

So:
1) Is this a typo?

2) It is a potential new "action" (that can be taken in addition to moving)?

Or

3)Does it simply mean that it costs an "extra" action point to leave the district (in addition to the action point spent on movement.)

.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ze Masqued Cucumber
France
flag msg tools
Protze et Chniaque !
badge
C'est le Gomazio à crête mordorée, dont le cri annonce le soir...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I vote for typo.
In the french rules you just need to have enough moves to get out (and spend an Action to move, of course).
Characters have 4 mvt points so you need to be 3 spaces max from the edge (3 points to go to the deployment space, 1 point to go out).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pouchain Laurent
France
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The french rules are good.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Coey
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great. Thanks

...glad to have that cleared up. And thanks for a great game, always good to see designer support on these forums.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.