Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Grappling Hook question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
CapeCod Gamer
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Grappling Hook

Type: Program
Cost: 2 Memory Units: 1
Faction: Runner Criminal
Faction Cost: 2
[Trash]: Break all but 1 subroutine on a piece of ice.
If speed is of the essence, an indirect encounter with a piece of ice is usually best.
Strength: -
Set: Honor and Profit Number: 45 Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Zefanya Langkan Maega


So what side chooses what subroutine is not broken on the ICE? Corp or Runner?
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brodie
United States
KC
Missouri
flag msg tools
mb
The same person who chooses which subroutine to break for any "1[c]: Break ice subroutine" ability: the Runner.
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Unless otherwise specified, cards give instructions to their controlling player. It tells you to break all but one; you choose which ones you break.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Long
United States
State College
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Fly Eagles Fly!
badge
The Cthulhu player, not the Football player.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GG for quoting the card text.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Frisk
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
MIND|GAMES
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whats curious here is that because it isn't an ice breaker and doesn't reference encounters - it could conceivably destroy an oversight AI'd archer on the corporations turn with E3. (Maybe installed on the fly on the corps turn for a discounted Kate install, and then used so it can be installed on the fly again via clone chip (with discount) on kate's turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Pettigrew
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Captain_Frisk wrote:
Whats curious here is that because it isn't an ice breaker and doesn't reference encounters - it could conceivably destroy an oversight AI'd archer on the corporations turn with E3. (Maybe installed on the fly on the corps turn for a discounted Kate install, and then used so it can be installed on the fly again via clone chip (with discount) on kate's turn.


Feel free to ask Lukas and post his response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Captain_Frisk wrote:
Whats curious here is that because it isn't an ice breaker and doesn't reference encounters - it could conceivably destroy an oversight AI'd archer on the corporations turn with E3. (Maybe installed on the fly on the corps turn for a discounted Kate install, and then used so it can be installed on the fly again via clone chip (with discount) on kate's turn.


No, Oversight AI says "during a single encounter".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Frisk
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
MIND|GAMES
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DrTall wrote:
Captain_Frisk wrote:
Whats curious here is that because it isn't an ice breaker and doesn't reference encounters - it could conceivably destroy an oversight AI'd archer on the corporations turn with E3. (Maybe installed on the fly on the corps turn for a discounted Kate install, and then used so it can be installed on the fly again via clone chip (with discount) on kate's turn.


No, Oversight AI says "during a single encounter".


Nuts!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damien M
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Captain_Frisk wrote:
DrTall wrote:
Captain_Frisk wrote:
Whats curious here is that because it isn't an ice breaker and doesn't reference encounters - it could conceivably destroy an oversight AI'd archer on the corporations turn with E3. (Maybe installed on the fly on the corps turn for a discounted Kate install, and then used so it can be installed on the fly again via clone chip (with discount) on kate's turn.


No, Oversight AI says "during a single encounter".


Nuts!


I'm confused as to why you're trying to do that on the corp's turn. Why not just run the server and break it during the encounter so that Oversight kicks off?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sigal
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To double the effect of Kate's discount
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.