Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Corto» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some questions after reading manual. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Waste MaLife
msg tools
1) Do you have a start hand of zero? Meaning that everyones first turn is to "draw 4"? This seems odd to me as you can pick from any deck.. so each player gets a major advantage on a single track? Or is there some random way to build start hands?

I couldn't work it out so we are thinking of rolling a 4 sided die 4 times each to choose which stack to draw from during setup.

2) The Playing of cards, then drawing 2 or the discarding of cards and drawing are either or actions... you can not do both. BUT are they supposed to be done in order? Can you draw 1 and then play it and then draw another? Or chose to discard, draw, then discard 2 then draw 2 and then discard and draw 1... (dose that make sense?)

I ask because of the text saying "You can draw cards one by one and look at it before drawing the next one" ... If you can not act after drawing the card why is this text in the manual?

3) When you discard a card it goes into the discard pile? Or bottom of the deck? Like if a character is killed it goes in discard.. but if it is never placed and "discarded" as a player action is it also removed form the game?

4) Can Corto / Rasputin use an object in the middle of movement, or only when it stops?

5) What dose it mean in the figurine rules for Corto / Rasputin. "You can not play a character card under a figurine, but you can "Act" on a character card placed under a figurine"

Does this mean that if you move Corto / Rasputin to a space not yet occupied no one can place a new character in that track? Or do they place it in the next slot of the track, or can they not move into empty slots at all?

Dose it also mean that in addition to the "area" effect of the figurine, if you land on a character you can activate (act?) the character as if it was just played? As in add / remove influence?

Yeah.. I just do not understand that rules wording.. what dose it mean by "act"




Thanks guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes. Start with zero cards. Having a bunch of cards in one track may or may not be advantageous because of how the tracks interact.

2) The example shows the player ending the game turn by drawing when they chose to play cards. And the "one by one" drawing is because you can draw from Deck 1, then look at what you have before decided which deck to draw from next.

3) They go to a discard pile.

4) The rules specify that "AFTER THE FIGURINE HAS FINISHED MOVING, YOU CAN PERFORM ... " So you need to stop first.

5) Figurines can move onto spaces that don't contain cards, so it's possible that you'll want to play a character into a space that contains a figurine. You can't do that. As to acting on a character under a figurine: If you move Rasputin adjacent to Corto, you can then use Rasputin's action to eliminate the character that Corto's figurine was standing on.

You don't need to place in the first spot on the tracks, remember. So having Corto sitting in the top track doesn't prevent play into that track - it prevents playing into the space containing Corto.

Acting on characters has to do with Corto and Rasputin's special actions - earning gold and placing markers, or killing characters, respectively. The figurines can also use objects, which is the figurine acting. The character being acted upon is the character who is affected by the action - the target of the attack or the character who is receiving the marker.

Eric
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Waste MaLife
msg tools
what about figure movement "on to the board"?

Like they start off the board. Dose the 1st point of movement Move it onto the 1st space a character can be played or onto the deck? Which in the setup is "placed on the 1st space"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WasteMaLife wrote:
what about figure movement "on to the board"?

Like they start off the board. Dose the 1st point of movement Move it onto the 1st space a character can be played or onto the deck? Which in the setup is "placed on the 1st space"


It's covered in the rules:

THE RULES wrote:
the first time a figurine enters the game, it will ”appear” on the deck of your choice before proceeding to move.


It's in the upper right corner of the box labeled "CORTO AND RASPUTIN CARDS" on Page 6 of the rulebook.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
... and a note I missed previously on Question 3:

If a character is killed it doesn't go to a discard pile. The player responsible for killing them pulls that character card and puts it under their seal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Soturi The Heartless
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Greetings,
You start with 4 cards (rulebook, p.3, step 8)
Have fun!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.