Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Goebel
United States
Grand Rapids
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Played with a new group, had some timing questions:

a) Can I do the following on the Germans movement action:
* move a unit into Munich
* kill the Austrian unit in Munich (and the german unit that entered)
* use the German railroad to move a different unit through Munich and enter Vienna?

b)During the investor phase someone steals control of a country. That country is currently peacefully coexisting on the board. Can they break piece during the investor phase? When exactly are you allowed to break the peace? When aren't you allowed to break the peace?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dana Dawson
Italy
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a) I think this is a legal move
b) You can break a peace (or "peaceful coexistence") with the manouver action.

Any time a player (=a Nation) performs the Manouver action can change the "attitude" of all the armies of that Nation on the board
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Berry
United States
Unspecified
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
blackholexan wrote:
a) I think this is a legal move
b) You can break a peace (or "peaceful coexistence") with the manouver action.

Any time a player (=a Nation) performs the Manouver action can change the "attitude" of all the armies of that Nation on the board


Dana Dawson is correct in both cases.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Babis Tsimoris
Greece
Salonica
flag msg tools
Be the Miracle!
badge
There is no knowledge that is not power
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you can move a unit to munich if the units starts its move inside germany.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Goebel
United States
Grand Rapids
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
played a bunch, and to keep it simple we've been interpreting the rules as follows:

Movement/combat:
a) move all sea units
b) resolve all sea combat
c) move all land units
d) resolve all land combat

--This keeps things clear/simple

Breaking the peace:
You can only declare/agree to peace when someone "enters" a space. The moving player chooses which pieces fight. That decision stays in effect until one of the co-existing countries advances to the movement space.

You cannot:
--Initiate combat between peaceful units after purchasing control of a country. You must advance to the movement space on the rondel to initiate combat

--Declare peace (allowing a factory to produce) because you just
purchased a certificate giving you control of a country....you must
advance the country to the movement space to rescind peace

--Rescind peace (preventing a factory from producing) because you just purchased a certificate giving you control of a country....you must advance the country to the movement space to rescind peace

--Initiate combat when a peaceful unit leaves a space. Countries decide peace/war when someone enters their space. The only way to change this to advance to the movement action. Moving out doesn't provide an opportunity to battle someone you were peaceful with.

This interpretation is based on the simple fact that peaceful coexistence is determined/changed as part of movement. There is no mention of declaring/rescinding peace at any other time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Babis Tsimoris
Greece
Salonica
flag msg tools
Be the Miracle!
badge
There is no knowledge that is not power
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't understand why you make so much trouble in your life. things are so easy! For better results I would recommend you
a)move a sea unit then immediately resolve battle if it gets involved with it. Then move another sea unit and do the same.
b) do the same for the land units as the sea units.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.