Chenier La Salle
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been working on my game for close to three years now.
Unpublished Prototype
www.facebook.com/ny1901

Right from the start I've wanted it to be a true 'gateway' game. On other words I want it to be pleasing to 'gamers' of course, but simple and intuitive enough that it has a shot at broad 'gateway' appeal.

I have the option of including two options: a basic game and a - slightly - more advanced game option in the box.

Is offering two options in the box anathema to 'gateway'? It might please true gamers to have an 'advanced' option however, having many levels of complexity in the box might scare away the 'masses' that can make the game a true gateway success?

Your thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Shipley
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
the liberal unsavory type
mbmbmbmbmb
Settlers has a beginners version with a fixed setup and an "advanced" variable setup. It seems to sell OK.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Cantrell
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fresco is an example of a successful game that includes basic family rules and expansion modules that can add depth and replayability for gamers.

Personally I think the idea makes games like this serve as even better gateways. With non-gamers or new players you can start with the basic rules and move up as they get more comfortable.

Edit to add: I've taken a look at your game before, and that board is gorgeous my friend. Well done!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patricio Mendez
United States
Miami
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
"It is no use walking anywhere to preach unless our walking is our preaching."
mbmbmbmbmb
Fresco! The basic game is very beginner-friendly. The game also comes with 3 "modules" you can add that increase the complexity (but never becoming heavy).

You can see the run-through of the game by Rahdo

http://bgg.cc/video/31021/fresco/rahdo-runs-through-fresco