sygyzy
United States
Goleta
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for the easy questions but I am confused about how the attacking and blocking works and specifically where the characters go after resolving.

1. Scenario: Attacker has two characters (Al and Ed), each with A:3 D:2. Defender has one sidekick with A:1 D:1 and chooses to block Al. For the purposes of the playmat, what does "blocked" and "unblocked" mean? When resolving, Al hits the sidekick for 3 damage while the sidekick only has 1 defense. The sidekick gets knocked out and goes into the right column (prep area). However, since damage is simultaneous, it means she attacks with 1 but Al can block this with his D:2. Where does Al go? He isn't KO'd by the sidekick. Does he go into the field (blocked) or the used area (unblocked)? Does blocked mean someone tried to defend against you whether or not it was successful?

2. Using the same scenario above, Ed now attacks but since there are no defenders, he attacks the (human) player for 3 damage. Where does he go now? Is it into the used area (unblocked)?

3. Just to make sure - If Jack has A:3 D:2 and Jill has A:3 D:2 and Jack attacks, Jill also gets to attack back right, knocking them both out? But attackers always go first so does Jack knock Jill out (A:3 vs D:2) which means Jill is "dead" (moved to prep area) and cannot attack back?

4. What happens if Rick has A:3 D:2 and Bobby has A:3 D:4 and Rick attacks Bobby? Bobby defends against his attack and attacks Rick back for A:3. No Rick is knocked out? And where does Bobby go? Does he go back to the field or the used area since Rick didn't block him successfully?

Thanks for your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm going to bypass your scenarios because they seem confusing and redundant. Attacker attacks. Blocker blocks. All characters deal their damage simultaneously (unless an ability or action die indicates otherwise). Any characters suffering equal to or more attack than they have defense are knocked out and go to the prep area. Any character blocked, but not knocked out, returns to the fielded area. Any character that deals damage to the opposing player goes to the used pile.

That's it.

Quote:
3. Just to make sure - If Jack has A:3 D:2 and Jill has A:3 D:2 and Jack attacks, Jill also gets to attack back right, knocking them both out? But attackers always go first so does Jack knock Jill out (A:3 vs D:2) which means Jill is "dead" (moved to prep area) and cannot attack back?


I changed my mind when I reread this. The sequence is:

Declare Attackers (JUST DECLARE, no damage is dealt)
Declare Blockers (JUST DECLARE, no damage is dealt)
Deal Damage (both blockers and attackers deal damage at the same time unless an ability or action die indicates otherwise)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Galietta III
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scenario 1 - (heh, Ed and Al) 3:2 is blocked by 1:1. Since your opponent blocked with the 1:1, your 3:2 is considered blocked for the rest of the turn. 1:1 is sent to the Prep area (KOd), 3:2 is sent to the field (blocked but not KOd)

Scenario 2 - 3:2 attacks and is unblocked. Deals 3 damage to player and goes to the used zone (unblocked)

Scenario 3 - 3:2 blocked by 3:2. Both characters deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. Both characters are sent to the prep area (KOd).

Scenario 4 - 3:2 is blocked by 3:4. both deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. 3:2 is sent to the prep area (KOd) and 3:4 is sent to the field (blocks but isn't KOd).


Word of advice, try not to think of blocking characters as "attacking back". In simplest terms, an attacking or blocking character always deals their damage to the opposing character (unless a card prevents it) and that damage is dealt simultaneously. If it exceeds the opposing character's defense, that character is KOd. Here is an easy chart on where characters go after combat:

Character attacked or blocked and was KOd - Prep area
Character attacked and was never blocked - Used pile
Character attacked or blocked but was not KOd - Field
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sygyzy
United States
Goleta
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stryyder wrote:
Scenario 1 - (heh, Ed and Al) 3:2 is blocked by 1:1. Since your opponent blocked with the 1:1, your 3:2 is considered blocked for the rest of the turn. 1:1 is sent to the Prep area (KOd), 3:2 is sent to the field (blocked but not KOd)

Scenario 2 - 3:2 attacks and is unblocked. Deals 3 damage to player and goes to the used zone (unblocked)

Scenario 3 - 3:2 blocked by 3:2. Both characters deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. Both characters are sent to the prep area (KOd).

Scenario 4 - 3:2 is blocked by 3:4. both deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. 3:2 is sent to the prep area (KOd) and 3:4 is sent to the field (blocks but isn't KOd).


Word of advice, try not to think of blocking characters as "attacking back". In simplest terms, an attacking or blocking character always deals their damage to the opposing character (unless a card prevents it) and that damage is dealt simultaneously. If it exceeds the opposing character's defense, that character is KOd. Here is an easy chart on where characters go after combat:

Character attacked or blocked and was KOd - Prep area
Character attacked and was never blocked - Used pile
Character attacked or blocked but was not KOd - Field


Thanks, this is VERY helpful. Just to be clear, the definition of "unblocked" means you have an attacker and there is no physical die or dice assigned to block you? In other words, your dice attack goes straight to the player?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hector Lopez
United States
El Paso
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sygyzy wrote:
Stryyder wrote:
Scenario 1 - (heh, Ed and Al) 3:2 is blocked by 1:1. Since your opponent blocked with the 1:1, your 3:2 is considered blocked for the rest of the turn. 1:1 is sent to the Prep area (KOd), 3:2 is sent to the field (blocked but not KOd)

Scenario 2 - 3:2 attacks and is unblocked. Deals 3 damage to player and goes to the used zone (unblocked)

Scenario 3 - 3:2 blocked by 3:2. Both characters deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. Both characters are sent to the prep area (KOd).

Scenario 4 - 3:2 is blocked by 3:4. both deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. 3:2 is sent to the prep area (KOd) and 3:4 is sent to the field (blocks but isn't KOd).


Word of advice, try not to think of blocking characters as "attacking back". In simplest terms, an attacking or blocking character always deals their damage to the opposing character (unless a card prevents it) and that damage is dealt simultaneously. If it exceeds the opposing character's defense, that character is KOd. Here is an easy chart on where characters go after combat:

Character attacked or blocked and was KOd - Prep area
Character attacked and was never blocked - Used pile
Character attacked or blocked but was not KOd - Field


Thanks, this is VERY helpful. Just to be clear, the definition of "unblocked" means you have an attacker and there is no physical die or dice assigned to block you? In other words, your dice attack goes straight to the player?


Yes that is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Galietta III
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty much. The steps are "Assign attackers" then "assign blockers". If, during the assign blockers phase, your opponent did not assign a die to block one of your attackers, that attacker is considered "unblocked" and would therefor deal damage to your opponent and go to the used pile. Even if it deals no damage (for instance if your opponent redirected or reduced the damage, or used global effects to reduce your A to zero) it still goes to the used pile if it is unblocked.

The one exception I can think of:

Your 3:2 attacks and your opponent blocks with a 2:1. Before damage is done, you use the global ability on the "Distraction" basic action to return the blocking 2:1 to the field. Your 3:2 is still considered blocked, since your opponent assigned a blocker, but since the blocker is no longer in the attack zone during the damage step, your 3:2 takes and deals no damage and returns to the field as a blocked attacker that wasn't KOd.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cornixt
msg tools
badge
Cheap as chips
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stryyder wrote:
Scenario 1 - (heh, Ed and Al) 3:2 is blocked by 1:1. Since your opponent blocked with the 1:1, your 3:2 is considered blocked for the rest of the turn. 1:1 is sent to the Prep area (KOd), 3:2 is sent to the field (blocked but not KOd)

Scenario 2 - 3:2 attacks and is unblocked. Deals 3 damage to player and goes to the used zone (unblocked)

Scenario 3 - 3:2 blocked by 3:2. Both characters deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. Both characters are sent to the prep area (KOd).

Scenario 4 - 3:2 is blocked by 3:4. both deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. 3:2 is sent to the prep area (KOd) and 3:4 is sent to the field (blocks but isn't KOd).


Word of advice, try not to think of blocking characters as "attacking back". In simplest terms, an attacking or blocking character always deals their damage to the opposing character (unless a card prevents it) and that damage is dealt simultaneously. If it exceeds the opposing character's defense, that character is KOd. Here is an easy chart on where characters go after combat:

Character attacked or blocked and was KOd - Prep area
Character attacked and was never blocked - Used pile
Character attacked or blocked but was not KOd - Field


Nice and clear. Those scenarios should have been in the rulebook, took me several reads of the attacking section and the example plays to work it out whereas something like this is much easier to understand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodney "Watch It Played" Smith
Canada
Montague
Prince Edward Island
flag msg tools
badge
Join us to learn and watch games played at youtube.com/watchitplayed
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sygyzy wrote:
Stryyder wrote:
Scenario 1 - (heh, Ed and Al) 3:2 is blocked by 1:1. Since your opponent blocked with the 1:1, your 3:2 is considered blocked for the rest of the turn. 1:1 is sent to the Prep area (KOd), 3:2 is sent to the field (blocked but not KOd)

Scenario 2 - 3:2 attacks and is unblocked. Deals 3 damage to player and goes to the used zone (unblocked)

Scenario 3 - 3:2 blocked by 3:2. Both characters deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. Both characters are sent to the prep area (KOd).

Scenario 4 - 3:2 is blocked by 3:4. both deal 3 damage to the other, simultaneously. 3:2 is sent to the prep area (KOd) and 3:4 is sent to the field (blocks but isn't KOd).


Word of advice, try not to think of blocking characters as "attacking back". In simplest terms, an attacking or blocking character always deals their damage to the opposing character (unless a card prevents it) and that damage is dealt simultaneously. If it exceeds the opposing character's defense, that character is KOd. Here is an easy chart on where characters go after combat:

Character attacked or blocked and was KOd - Prep area
Character attacked and was never blocked - Used pile
Character attacked or blocked but was not KOd - Field


Thanks, this is VERY helpful. Just to be clear, the definition of "unblocked" means you have an attacker and there is no physical die or dice assigned to block you? In other words, your dice attack goes straight to the player?


But remember, if an attacker is blocked by a die, and then (through some effect) the blocker is removed - the damage from the attacker does NOT go through to the player - even though the blocker is no longer there.

Once a blocker is assigned to an attacker, their damage can no longer go to the player, even if that blocker is later removed.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sterling Johnson
United States
Beatrice
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stryyder: just wanted to clarify Distraction only removes attackers not blockers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robbie Scargill
United States
Summerville
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But what happens to a character that is attacking and unblocked but gets KOed by damage from an ability after it deals its damage to your opponent?(like from the uncommon Hulk)

It wasn't blocked and did damage to your opponent, so does it go to the used pile?

It was KOed by damage, so does it go to the prep area?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sterling Johnson
United States
Beatrice
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any card the gets KOd always goes to the KO pile. Its the only place the rules have designated KOd characters to go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Galietta III
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
stubobj wrote:
Stryyder: just wanted to clarify Distraction only removes attackers not blockers.


Ah, my mistake.

Quote:
But what happens to a character that is attacking and unblocked but gets KOed by damage from an ability after it deals its damage to your opponent?(like from the uncommon Hulk)


Characters that are KOd at any time go to the prep area. The final stage of a turn, after combat is finished and effects from combat are resolved, is the cleanup phase. I would ammend my previous rundown:

Stryyder wrote:
Here is an easy chart on where characters who are still in the attack zone go after combat during the cleanup step:

Character attacked or blocked and was KOd - Prep area
Character attacked and was never blocked - Used pile
Character attacked or blocked but was not KOd - Field
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
san marcos
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
wraithlord813 wrote:
But what happens to a character that is attacking and unblocked but gets KOed by damage from an ability after it deals its damage to your opponent?(like from the uncommon Hulk)

It wasn't blocked and did damage to your opponent, so does it go to the used pile?

It was KOed by damage, so does it go to the prep area?


The damage should be an extra adverse effect to your opponent, not let them keep a die in play that otherwise should be headed back to the bag. So it might KO a blocked character that was otherwise heading back to the field, but unblocked characters should still go to the used pile I think.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heckle Jekyll
United States
Knox
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wraithlord813 wrote:
But what happens to a character that is attacking and unblocked but gets KOed by damage from an ability after it deals its damage to your opponent?(like from the uncommon Hulk)

It wasn't blocked and did damage to your opponent, so does it go to the used pile?

It was KOed by damage, so does it go to the prep area?


I'd checklist the rules in the order they are listed.

The Attack phase occurs before the Cleanup phase.

Quote:
Attack phase

* Declare Attackers
* Declare Blockers
* Use Actions and Global Abilities
* Assign Damage

the Assign Damage part of the Attack phase says. "Once damage has been assigned knock out each character that took damage greater than or equal to its defense. When a character is knocked out move it to that player's prep area. "



Quote:
Cleanup phase

[1.] Characters that blocked (or were blocked) but were not knocked out return to the field.

[2.] Place unblocked attacking characters in the player’s used pile (even if the defending player managed to prevent or redirect all the damage done).

[3.] All damage to all dice is cleared.

[4.] Any actions still in a player’s reserve pool are moved to the used pile.

[5.] All card effects end (exception: “while active” effects may continue). The turn ends.


Knockouts occur before the cleanup phase and therefore under your scenario "an attacking unblocked character that was knocked out by an ability" never makes it to the Cleanup phase, as it was already knocked out and should have been placed in the prep area during the Attack phase.

In other words - the Cleanup phase does not provide an instruction for moving knock outs because knock outs should not need to be cleaned up because the Attack phase already put them into the prep area.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.