United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
A Brief Reivew of Landships! by Mark Mokszycki

First things first. I am not an expert on this game by any means. In fact, I have only dabbled with a couple scenarios. This "review" is really more of a collection of first impressions, and should not be taken as gospel. Having said that, let's get started...

This looks to be a very nice game- a bit like Squad Leader set in WW1.

PROs: The rules are well written for the most part. This game sets out to do a lot, and it somehow manages to do it all quite well.

The game offers a unique perspective on WW1. It's not just a stalemate of facing trenches. Zooming in on the trenches, Perry Moore shows us that there is a mobile war going on at the tactical scale. There are interesting decisions to make every turn, and the gameplay is tense.

A 4 page set of Quick Start rules plus scenario get you up and going in no time at all. Nice touch, and very appreciated!

The components are drop dead gorgeous.

The system is easily expanded, and it would work very well as a construction set.

Errata is reasonably short for a game of this scope.

CONs: I have read that many of the scenarios are terribly unbalanced. Still, if taken as an educational excercise, this is not necessarily a bad thing in and of itself (I've played enough Berg games to know!).