16 Posts

Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: what's I put on my B-day wish list rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
doug keepout
msg tools
my parents asked me to make a B-day wish list so here's what I put down

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/3633/sid-meiers-civil...

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/21050/combat-commande...

I'm a beginner so any thought's on what my picks are?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deacon
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Love thy fate.
mbmbmbmbmb
Combat Commander would not be my first choice as a beginner. If you're a raw recruit, I'd suggest Memoir '44. It's easy to learn and fun to play. I've introduced several folks to wargaming through M44. I can't comment on Civilization because I haven't played it. Happy birthday!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Koskey
United States
Kahului
Hawaii
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

Combat Commander is actually one I use more often than others to bring new war gamers to the table and KEEP them there.

Is it the best or easiest to learn.....NO....but it works and works very well for many reasons some of which I cover below...

1. Easy to learn. This is not so much to an easy system per say, but a huge following and very large support group. You can find opponents easy both online and across the table. A very well written rule set and errata helps. Someone is always willing to help here on BGG.

2. Works well as a solo game...though some may argue with this. I have logged over 250 solo C.C. games. In fact, I an setting this up for solo play as we speak...

3. Has (in my opinion) the best RSG (Random Scenerio Generator) which makes it replayable infinitely.

4 has a huge amount of official published scenerios to keep your interest if you don't like the RSG, or don't want to mess with it at first.

5. The game is supported by the designers and manufacture which insures this will continue with new content and great support for the foreseeable future.