Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

High Frontier» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions after the first full game. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Olson
United States
Troy
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey All,

Had a great time playing the basic game on Saturday but a couple of questions came up.

1.) Can someone help clarify the hand limits in the A&C rules? From my understanding, it says you have no hand limit, except for in auctions/research. So let's say you have a rocket in space with three cards and an outpost on Mars with one card. Are you at your hand limit? Can you just juggle 7-8 cards all around space?

2.) It was a three player game and one player was poised to build the final factory. He landed on an Asteroid and left the Refinery and Robonaut as an outpost. He then proceeded to try to go to Mercury for more points, assuming that at any point he could complete an industrialize action and end the game. Is this accurate? Both me and the other player tried to prepare to build the 6th factory ourselves, but would seemingly have to do it before he could react with an industrialize action.

3.) There are a whole bunch of Asteroids that have a branch off to approach them. I assume these are Hohmann intersections and therefore they make it just really tricky to get to those sites without spending a lot of turns waiting, or fuel pivoting?

4.) The game is science-tastic and I love it, but is there a scientific reason besides making the game playable that "waiting" at a Hohmann intersection would allow a fuel-less pivot? It really works gameplaywise since those waits are painful, but just wondering on the science.

Thanks in advance!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erich Schneider
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The hand limit only applies to cards in your "hand stack" - cards you have not put "on the board" using the Boost or ET Production operations. If you have four or more cards (not counting your crew card) in your hand stack, you cannot start an auction or participate in one another player starts. Other than that, anything goes - you can juggle as many cards around in space as you want, and if you have a big rocket which you decommission back to your hand stack, you can have way more than four cards in your hand with no additional penalty.

2. Yes, your friend's assessment of the situation was accurate.

3. If the intersection does not have a circle on it (either filled in or not), it's a Hohmann intersection. That represents the asteroid having a more highly inclined orbit that requires extra delta-V or more careful mission timing to get to.

4. Read up on "Hohmann transfer orbit" in Wikipedia - in a nutshell, it's an orbital path that requires the minimum amount of energy to transfer between two bodies, but can only be done when the bodies are in specific positions relative to each other. Waiting at the Hohmann intersection means your trajectory was planned to wait for the right time to make the transfer, so it takes more time but less energy. Paying the extra burns means you just fire up the engines and go there in a more "brute force" way.
24 
 Thumb up
1.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Barnes
United States
Derby
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
alanias wrote:

2.) It was a three player game and one player was poised to build the final factory. He landed on an Asteroid and left the Refinery and Robonaut as an outpost. He then proceeded to try to go to Mercury for more points, assuming that at any point he could complete an industrialize action and end the game. Is this accurate? Both me and the other player tried to prepare to build the 6th factory ourselves, but would seemingly have to do it before he could react with an industrialize action.


He would have to of 'claimed the site' first before he could build the factory. Not sure if this was implied in your question, but does make a difference.

"H7. INDUSTRIALIZE OPERATION (ENGINEERING)
Place a factory cube on top of your claim disk by
DECOMMISSIONING a robonaut and a refinery card
at the prospected site."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.