Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Rum & Pirates» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules question: Captain is "cornered"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Wilder
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When the captain has no place to go, he is moved to the gold coin on the next numbered board. Here's a situation that we ran into the first time I played this game:

The captain was unable to move on any "free" paths. There was, however, one "dark alley" available. The active player had no gold, so he cannot use the "dark alley" option. Is the captain moved to the next sequential board, or is the player forced to "put to bed" all of his remaining corsairs?

That is all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Low
Australia
Footscray
Victoria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoeyHemlock wrote:


The captain was unable to move on any "free" paths. There was, however, one "dark alley" available. The active player had no gold, so he cannot use the "dark alley" option. Is the captain moved to the next sequential board, or is the player forced to "put to bed" all of his remaining corsairs?

That is all.


Correct me if I'm wrong but the rules state that the active player can use the 'dark alley' for no cost if he has no money AND it's the only viable move option.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
howl hollow howl
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
The rules clearly state that if the only move available requires the use of a dark alley, then you do not need to pay the gold to use it. However, if you have already moved this turn, you still have to pay the one gold to make the extra move.

- d
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Wilder
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification. We must have missed this "free dark alley" rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W. Eric Martin
United States
Apex
North Carolina
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
Avatar
JoeyHemlock wrote:
Thanks for the clarification. We must have missed this "free dark alley" rule.


To give you the exact wording from 1/3 of the way down page 4: "Note: if the dark alley move is the only possible move for the player, he pays no additional coin, but he would still pay to move the captain a second, third, etc. time."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.