Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sekigahara: The Unification of Japan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Castle Overrun Confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roland W. est. 1984
Germany
Deutschland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Forces can net be overrun if they "control" a castle. What does this mean:

a) you can not overrun units on a space with a castle (if they are 2 or less in numbers)
b) if it is your turn and you move on an enemy unit he can be overrun because it is the movement step and he only can move into the castle in the combat step
c) castles with enemy units can never be overrun (except if there are 3+ units)

CONFUSION!! robot
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Maher
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
evil_puck wrote:
Forces can net be overrun if they "control" a castle. What does this mean:

a) you can not overrun units on a space with a castle (if they are 2 or less in numbers)
b) if it is your turn and you move on an enemy unit he can be overrun because it is the movement step and he only can move into the castle in the combat step
c) castles with enemy units can never be overrun (except if there are 3+ units)

CONFUSION!! robot


I hope I get this right

1). As per 7.4.3 Enemy units who control a castle cannot be Overrun. There is no minimum/maximum number of enemy blocks required to be present.

Therefore combat will happen - either a normal combat (3+ enemy blocks) or a siege (2< enemy blocks). The enemy does have to declare whether the combat is normal or a siege (in the case of 2< enemy blocks). If the combat is normal and the enemy losses the battle it can retreat into the castle and so an overrun cannot occur.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Calkins
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Units in a location with a castle cannot be overrun, regardless of the numbers, so long as they control the castle.

If only one side has units in the location, they control the castle.

If both sides have units in the location, whichever side was there first controls the castle. In case of a siege, of course, whoever is inside the castle controls the castle.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.