Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

EuroFront II» Forums » Rules

Subject: DoW by Axis on Turkey rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Juan de Marco
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Say it is pre-barbarossa. What happens with regard to Russian DEs?

The DoW activates the eastfront, but is it also considered a direct DoW on Russia? Does the diplomatic event SG happen?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Menconi
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It appears DE-SG on DR1 is possible; but the Sov would not be belligerent, just they get all their reserve units. They might get a break on DE-S1. After winter '41, SG allows the Sov to try for SG. Note that an unusual success for the Axis in MF, if they get into the Mideast, also allows SG. Turkey might be a tough nut to crack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan de Marco
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you sure Pete?

Kai reads in the molotov pact section (20.14): Entry of foreign Axis units into the Baltic States, Turkey, Persia or Finland (unless FL/FX in effect), constitutes a Declaration of War upon the USSR.

But is it so that a DoW on Turkey = DoW on Russia = SG ? or
DoW on Turkey = reaction DoW on Russia solely without SG?

Basically means a trade of Axis Betrayal for SG, when you want to go a different route (say directly into the ME, but then leaving a big flank to the Soviets).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan de Marco
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
on the other hand again, I found in the 'MF cliff notes' - MidEast Front Issues Redux - the following:

"If the Axis attacks Turkey without going against the Soviets, the Soviets will have to Mobilize before intervening. This is usually a 1/3rd to 2/3rd chance, meaning it will occur on average 2-4 months after the attack. Until then the Turks will have to hold alone (possibly with very minor Allied help)."

Craig, it's a direct contradiction, though the MF Issues is non-canon rules of course.. Clarify?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.