Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » General

Subject: Starshell Confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A starshell may be fired at the start of the PFph, but then in the Advanced Sequence of Play it states that during the PFhp "if a starshell/IR has been fired in no previous Player Turn may attempt to fire a starshell".

What exactly does this mean?

The way I read it is that if a starshell was fired at the start of the PFph, then the Attacker cannot fire a starshell during the PFph. But, it a starshell was not fired at the start of the PFph, then a starshell may be fired during the PFph
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is easier to let off the first one. After that, they have to stick to a schedule, going off at the start of a phase much like SMOKE placement.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Tewksbury
United States
Fitchburg
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
E1.91 INITIAL USE: No Starshells/IR may be fired in a scenario until one of three events has occurred: (see Clarification and Q&A)


--an enemy motorized vehicle changes its hex or its VCA within 16 hexes of a friendly unit that is currently capable of firing a Starshell/IR (or Spotting/Observing for an IR-capable firer) while the friendly force has no motorized vehicle onboard; or

--a friendly unit currently capable of firing a Starshell/IR (or Spotting/Observing for an IR-capable firer) has a LOS to an enemy unit; or

--a Gunflash is placed due to an attack vs an enemy unit.
Once a Starshell/IR has been fired, both sides are free to fire either type (within applicable restrictions)

After this initial usage, then you have to stick to the schedule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erwin Lau
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "during" part is for Initial Use Only. After the Initial Use, starting from the next Player Turn, players can use only the "Start of PFPh" part.

e.g.
Turn 1 no Star Shell was placed
Turn 2 First Player Turn: Scenario Attacker move and then advance to positions where Scenario Dedender can see and within NVR.
Turn 2 Second Player Turn: Scenario Defender Squad A Prep Fires at a Cloaking counter. Now somewhere on the board Squad B can fire Starshell because of the "during" part.
Turn 3 First Player Turn: Scenario Attacker can only fire Starshell "at the start of PFPh". He cannot exercise the "during" part.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klas Malmstrom
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
ErwinLau wrote:
The "during" part is for Initial Use Only. After the Initial Use, starting from the next Player Turn, players can use only the "Start of PFPh" part.

A leader can still attempt placement "during" the PFPh though, even in turns after the turns in which the first one is placed.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey D Myers
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
"Always rely upon a happy mind alone." Geshe Chekhawa.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For night play, be sure to get this:

http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/88846/bring-on-the-night-i...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
peacmyer wrote:


Thanks for this link, it will be very useful in times to come.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.