Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd Pytel
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
(Maybe spoilerish if you haven't raided a large UFO yet...)

So I just started playing XCOM this week, played the first couple months a few times to get a feel for the start, and just now made my first attempt raiding an Abductor UFO (the one that I think always shows up in the 3rd month). Something went really, really weird and I can't figure out if it's a game bug or my own misunderstanding. Help? Here's a long description, because I'm not sure what information is relevant...

I entered through the main door right by the drop point, poked my head in the door, and killed the two Outsiders and a few Floaters that popped up. This is all in the big room with the two ramps against the far wall (the one at the North end of the pic here). It's a weird room with the two doors on the sides but with the nav screen thing in the middle you can kind of see over. I chuck a Battle Scanner over the nav screen and light up the space beyond it, and it's clear. I shuffle a couple dudes up (though not actually past the door or even close to it). On the next turn, three Mutons suddenly appear in the space with the Scanner. They didn't open any doors and aren't even near the door. I didn't see them move, they just materialized out of nowhere. Two are clearly visible in the room, but the third seems to be on the other side of the wall. They don't activate. I launch a fire rocket through the gap above the nav screen, which seemed to clearly include all three in the blast, but it only damages one of them. I end the turn in Overwatch, and the next turn all three Mutons apparently drop through the floor onto the ground outside. I could still see their life bars, but don't actually have sight to any of them. Things took a turn for the worse after that, but only because I couldn't tell where the heck the game thought the Mutons actually were or what exactly I had sight to within the area.