Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Variants

Subject: Houseruling to play with young child (5 years old) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
si Mon
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I've been playing the game for three months with my son, once a week every week. Very fun game with great components for quite cheap.

But in order to play with a kid that young it needs some house ruling, and I would like to share that with you, for people considering the game to play in a family set. I must say I only play with my son as I would get different kind of games to play with adults (cosmic encounter anyone ?)

My son really like the game because of the theme (yeah fire fighters), the immersion (every action like extinguish the fires and save people are very realistic and immersive) and he likes to see fire spreading almost as I like it (it is almost as memerizing as watching real fire).

We first played the family version but he asked for the advanced one because he wanted roles. And he's right: roles are great. He takes the role he prefers which are also the easiest: the deck gun commander and the one with 3 free aps to extinguish fire. He specializes in blocking fire which is good as I don't have to help him much with tactics.I choose the place that need to be "treated" in priority and after he can play his part alone. I take the roles specialized in saving people and the chief, as it needs more planning and choices. I try to not "alpha"him, I just try to get him focused on what we have to do. Tactics are very very difficult at that age.