Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Sobolewski
United Kingdom
Lerwick
Shetland
flag msg tools
Solving the Psi-Game

Hey guys! I've been reading this forum a lot and really enjoy it. Wanted to give something back, I'm not very good at playing or building decks but I work as a professional poker player and coach with a big focus on game theory so I figured I could use that knowledge in helping you guys with playing the Psi game. Since Caprice is really good and Jinteki is on the rise being good at the Psi game is a good way to increase your edge so might as well take it.

Brief Intro to Game Theory

In the study of games, a famous type of solution is called a Nash equilibrium solution. Playing according to this equilibrium is often (at least in the poker world) called game theory optimal play, or GTO for short.

What is it? Briefly it answers the following question (I'm sticking to two player games here for simplicity):
Imagine that no matter what strategy (this can include mixed strategies that involve choosing multiple options with certain probabilities) you pick, your opponent knows it and picks the best possible counter strategy. What is the best strategy to pick in your spot? The Nash equilibrium strategy.

An alternative definition which gives you more information about the strategy is the following:
A Nash equilibrium is a pair of strategies (one for you, one for your opponent) for which the following property holds: if both players are playing according to the Nash equilibrium (playing GTO), neither player can change their strategy in a way beneficial to themselves. I'll call this property P so that I don't have to rewrite it.

The guy for whom the equilbrium is named after—John Nash (a wonderful movie was made about him called A Beautiful Mind)--also proved that at least one such strategy pair always exists for basically every game.