Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Supreme Commander» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fleet Basing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Fox
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
Fear cannot be banished, but it can be calm and without panic; it can be mitigated by reason and evaluation.
badge
A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky, dangerous animals, and you know it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just trying to clarify the subtleties involved in where a fleet ends up after transporting a corps in either the move phase or the strategic move phase.

If a fleet is in the same port as the corps it is transporting, it can end its move in any friendly port.

If a fleet has to move to a port that a corps is in, then transport it. The fleet has to end its turn in the same port as the corps.

The two rules apply in both the movement and strategic movement phase.

During the final mutual phase, only the fleets in a Sea Zone Control Box move back to a port in that zone. All fleets currently in port stay where they are.

So, for example, The British have a fleet in London and a fleet in Scapa Flow. If the British have two corps in London they want to sea transport to Calais in the movement phase, the first corps is moved by the fleet in London, which can return to London, or any other friendly port. The second corps is moved by the fleet in Scapa Flow, which moves to London, then moves the corps to Calais. The fleet must end its move in Calais, where it will stay until the next turn.

Basically for a fleet to transport something and end up in its original port, the corps must also start in that port (thus keeping the fleet in a desirable two-front port). Does the above sound correct? I don't see a provision in the strategic movement section for a fleet to move unless it is transporting a corps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

If a fleet is in the same port as the corps it is transporting, it can end its move in any friendly port.

If a fleet has to move to a port that a corps is in, then transport it. The fleet has to end its turn in the same port as the corps.


Correct for Naval Transport not for strategic naval movement. The ships in strategic naval movement do not move as such, their adjacency is just a requirement for the land units/flaks to move.

Strategic movement cannot be used to move ships.

This is how I have played it. The important note in the living rules (p.29) makes no reference to the ships allowing this move actually move themselves. It would also be an easy way of taking ships out of the sea boxes and into a (potentially more useful) port - in fact I can see that could easily become the rationale for using naval strategic movement.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fox
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
Fear cannot be banished, but it can be calm and without panic; it can be mitigated by reason and evaluation.
badge
A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky, dangerous animals, and you know it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ashiefan wrote:
If a fleet has to move to a port that a corps is in, then transport it. The fleet has to end its turn in the same port as the corps.[/i]

Correct for Naval Transport not for strategic naval movement. The ships in strategic naval movement do not move as such, their adjacency is just a requirement for the land units/flaks to move.


I reread the strategic move section. It appears the ship just has to be in the zone somewhere to let the unit move, and will be subject to interception but doesn't actually move. I missed that part of it. D'Oh!

For the interception during the strategic phase, I take it to mean that if there are three fleets in the zone, then the unit can be transported as if it was being carried by a fleet, and protected by two more fleets if that is the only corps that will move by sea that strategic move phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb



Yes, Robert.

Remember, these are a very abstracted representation of all shipping assets. So if they are in the zone, they represent a large commitment of transport assets that are available in that zone.

During the strategic phase, you don't move the ships (they are already committed for the turn) but they are subject to intercept as those assets are also committed.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fox
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
Fear cannot be banished, but it can be calm and without panic; it can be mitigated by reason and evaluation.
badge
A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky, dangerous animals, and you know it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DHolte wrote:
Yes, Robert.

Remember, these are a very abstracted representation of all shipping assets. So if they are in the zone, they represent a large commitment of transport assets that are available in that zone.

During the strategic phase, you don't move the ships (they are already committed for the turn) but they are subject to intercept as those assets are also committed.


Thanks! I don't mind the abstraction. I'm actually enjoying it as the naval rules support the system without taking it over. I like playing A World at War, but I feel the complexity on the naval side takes over the majority of the rules overhead making the Europe portion not as fun to play.

A hit on an intercepted naval unit while it's transporting (either as the transport or escort) doesn't do anything to the naval unit correct? The only effect is it destroys the land unit if it was carrying one.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Levandowski
United States
Pittsburg
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When / How do I move fleets to another base not in the same sea zone? Say moving German subs from Bremen to Le Havre for example. Is it just basically a naval move without actually transporting a corps? The rules don't seem to be clear on this point....although I could have missed it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fox
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
Fear cannot be banished, but it can be calm and without panic; it can be mitigated by reason and evaluation.
badge
A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky, dangerous animals, and you know it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Number_41 wrote:
When / How do I move fleets to another base not in the same sea zone? Say moving German subs from Bremen to Le Havre for example. Is it just basically a naval move without actually transporting a corps? The rules don't seem to be clear on this point....although I could have missed it.


See section 12 of the rules. During the move phase, face down naval unit can freely rebase to another port, only limited by the restrictions in rule 12.2.1 Sea Boundaries and Naval Transport Limitations:

• Gibraltar must be friendly controlled to move from the North Atlantic into the Mediterranean or vice versa, except for Subs; see 12.3.1.
• Suez must be friendly controlled to move from the North Atlantic Transfer Box directly to the Eastern Mediterranean or vice versa; see 12.3.2.
• Istanbul must be friendly controlled to move from the Mediterranean to the Black Sea or vice versa.
• Copenhagen or Kiel must be friendly controlled to move from the North Atlantic to the Baltic Sea, or vice versa.
• Only units on the Allied side may enter the NATB or the Canada/USA Box.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.