Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game – Daybreak Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wordings rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
NoName NoLastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was confused by the wordings "Damage 2 vipers in the Reserves (if able) [...]", and "Destroy 1 raptor [...]" which occur on two separate X Chooses cards. Now, I would normally say if it doesn't mention if able or not you can still choose that option no matter what, but since it (apparently) explicitly states "if able" on others, maybe I got it wrong...

So, when there's a choice and you cannot fully carry out the instructions, are you unable to make that choice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Janne
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Feilin wrote:
So, when there's a choice and you cannot fully carry out the instructions, are you unable to make that choice?


You can choose it, unless it explicitly says you can't do it. Ie. one mutiny card says something like 'discard nuke (you can't do this if you don't have nuke tokens)' and there's at least one crisis that does the same thing with admiral (discard nuke if he has it).

In that particular case, if there are 2 or more vipers in reserve, damage 2, if there's just one, it's damaged, if there are none, nothing happens to vipers, but that option can still be chosen.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are choices and consequences in the game. You can always choose an option even if you can not fulfill the consequence in full, unless stated by the card.

So, the (if able) is superfluous.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We could probably find a dozen bad wordings in daybreak.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
We could find three dozen spread out across the expansions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.