Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: [Answered] Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can Grappling Hook + e3 get me through a single subroutine ice (e.g., Tollbooth)? I assume yes, because the FAQ says that "all" includes the number 0. Thus the all but one on Grappling Hook could mean zero, amirite?





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Cain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice
But E3 only let's you break after you have broken "a" subroutine. 0 subroutines is not a subroutine, so you cannot use E3.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua H
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice
The counter is that yes, Grappling Hook can break 0 subroutines on a 1 sub ICE. But 0 being a number doesn't necessarily suggest that breaking 0 subroutines triggers "whenever you break a subroutine," since, well, you haven't.

As I recall someone asked Lukas and an official ruling will be in the next FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Toltz
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Your cat likes me more
badge
In brightest day / In blackest night / No evil shall escape my sight / Let those who worship evil's might / Beware my power--Green Lantern's light!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice
"All" is universal.

"A" is existential.

This is college logic 101.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice
Yes, it seems obvious now. Thanks everyone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Morris
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice
https://twitter.com/ra1dy/status/460098652867133440
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice
jakodrako wrote:


There's the official answer. Thanks, Jacob.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Wray
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice
polychrotid wrote:
jakodrako wrote:


There's the official answer. Thanks, Jacob.


Can this be summarized for the sake of clarity and completion of this thread? (also for those who can't follow the link)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian H
United States
Anacortes
Washington
flag msg tools
Mess with the best, die like the rest.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Grappling Hook + e3 Feedback Implants on 1 s.r. ice
Lukas wrote:
The Runner can't break a one subroutine ice with Grappling Hook. The Hook works with e3 though.


Regarding Tollbooth:

Lukas wrote:
No. Tollbooth has 1 subroutine. You cannot break non-existent subroutines.


Also:

Lukas wrote:
I don't think the all including 0 ruling applies in this situation as you never break anything with Grappling Hook. Hook in next FAQ.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.