Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Panzergruppe Guderian» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is there an official order to halve and double units? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve
Thailand
flag msg tools
Is there an official or tournament order to double and halve units?

It should be:
. . Double for integration.
. . Halve for overrunning.
. . Halve for being out of supply.
. . Double for defending in doubling terrain.

This way reducing a Ger. Pzgren Reg. to a 1 always hurts, but odd size units are hurt more when doubled for woods and halved for being out of supply.

It would not be right that a Ger. Pz Div. with 2 steps lost (stacked together) can overrun at 8 modified combat factors. If halved for overrun 1st, then it is (before we start) 1+1+4, halved => 1+1+2, and doubled (for integration) => 2+2+4 = 8 again. It should be 6, not 8.

But, what does the rule book say?

[Edit on 6/12/14 to give final result and make it clearer--

. . Double for Ger. Div. integration. Can be attacking or defending.
. . Halve for being out of supply. Can be attacking or defending.
. . Either Double for defending in doubling terrain, or Halve for making an overrun which is a sort of an attack. So you can't do both.]

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolas Aubert
France
TOULON
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SPI rules :

[6.55] A unit conducting an Overrun attacks at
half Strength. The halving is done after all other
adjustments to the Combat Strength have been
made. All fractions remaining after this final
adjustment are then dropped. Thus, a German
Panzer Division (worth eight Combat Strength
Points at face value) that is out of supply and
conducting an Overrun would Overrun with a
Strength of four. (Its total Strength would be
doubled for divisional integration, see Case 7.3,
halved for being out of supply and then halved
again for Overrun.) Note that Soviet units that
begin a Friendly Movement Phase beyond the
Radius of a Leader may not conduct Overruns.

Edit : added end of paragraph
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
Thailand
flag msg tools
Muchu wrote:
SPI rules :

[6.55] A unit conducting an Overrun attacks at
half Strength. The halving is done after all other
adjustments to the Combat Strength have been
made. All fractions remaining after this final
adjustment are then dropped. Thus, a German
Panzer Division (worth eight Combat Strength
Points at face value) that is out of supply and
conducting an Overrun would Overrun with a
Strength of four. (Its total Strength would be
doubled for divisional integration, see Case 7.3,
halved for being out of supply and then halved
again for Overrun.) Note that Soviet units that
begin a Friendly Movement Phase beyond the
Radius of a Leader may not conduct Overruns.

So, I was very close.
It should have been:
. . . Doubled for integration. Ger. only, both attacking and defending.
. . . Halved for being out of supply. Both attacking and defending.
. . . Halved for making an overrun. Only attacking.
. . . Doubled for doubling terrain. Only defending.

At least I'm pretty sure that doubling for woods is last.


Edit to add: I know that AH changed some things and made some clearer.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
McKinley Hamby
United States
Charles Town
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick Question:

Your doubling for woods?

Two things,

One it says "The halving is done after all other adjustments to the Combat Strength have been made." So if woods are in the equation, then they would come before the overrun vaule is computed.

Second, the foot note(?) says ". . . Doubled for doubling terrain. Only defending." Is not Overrun an attack?

Or am I missing something..

McK
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
Thailand
flag msg tools
goodtimebyall wrote:
Quick Question:

Your doubling for woods?

Two things,

One it says "The halving is done after all other adjustments to the Combat Strength have been made." So if woods are in the equation, then they would come before the overrun vaule is computed.

Second, the foot note(?) says ". . . Doubled for doubling terrain. Only defending." Is not Overrun an attack?

Or am I missing something..

McK

Yes, the list is all-inclusive. That is, it includes all possible doubles and halves.

But, a unit can't ever be both halved for overrunning and doubled for defending in a woods; for the reason you gave [overrunning is an attack].
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.