Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

EuroFront II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Soviets declare war? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Juan de Marco
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Based on 20.521, Belligerence Effects

The Soviets can issue Declarations of War which are not considered Allied
Betrayal (see 20.36).

Can this mean, hypothetically, the Soviets neutralizing Persia in advance of a Mideast Uprising (at the cost of one unit and a supreme move?)

Suppose the Soviets declare war on Persia (result: not an allied war), Persia gets set up by the Axis, but still only traces the Line of National Communication via the railline through Tabriz. All the Soviets need to do is build a cavalry in Nakichevan or Lenkoran (at their leisure, for as much as they have it anyway), and supreme move it once and cut! Persia Dies. Soviets gain 6PP, Allies lose 6 PP - but never ever have to worry again about lend lease, an uprising or Rebellion. It all but guarantees Soviet Survival with 3 additional infantry steps per turn, but will tie the hands of the Allies for a long time, maybe deep into 43 even since their WF PPs get reduced to 1 - forget about activating AF. Suppose a reasonable Allied player has managed to get the Allied Veterans into the MF - sit tight and weather that DAK until the Amis arrive.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RedPlanet
Australia
Gold Coast
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
part answer to your question is yes.

after soviet mobilization (DE-SM, see 20.55 for the large number of negatives against this), the reds could DOW Persia.

even though it is considered a 'British protectorate', I'm sure if the Brits can DOW their own protectorate - so can Russia.


as for your Production Point part of your question - NO.

middle east PP's stay British , even if red occupied - nice try there.

Quote:
20.921 British Protectorates
Iraq and Persia are Cooperating (16.0) with the Allies: they have ceded PPs, Bases and Transit Rights (see below) to the Allies while still remaining 'neutral'. Even when occupied by the Soviets, they are considered to be Allied controlled.


and all this is probably redundant anyway, because in the version of the rules to come out next 1.16 , Persia will not be allowed to DE-ME (Persia) until Russia has Mobilized/or been invaded .........

roll on ..........
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan de Marco
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.